Pickles and the Barbecued Pit VipersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I have never fully understood why we name our cars, but it is nevertheless a long-standing tradition, that every vehicle must have a name.


THE BARBECUED PIT VIPER


y current car, the "Pinkly Taurus" was aptly named based entirely off a humorous skit from the Bob & Tom Show, about Ed Pinkley, the owner of Pinkley Motors – Home of Pinkley Jeep, Pinkley Volvo and their most popular model, the Pinkley Taurus. After all, who wouldn't love a Pinkley Taurus. The car was already four years old, and I had only recently got it back after a theft involving a beautiful girl, two back flips, a failed karate chop and a three state chase. If you are unfamiliar with The Bob & Tom Show, here's the skit:

I had just started my new job working at a Dodge dealership. I was the porter, which is just a fancy term for the guy who goes out to the lot, grabs a car scheduled for a tune-up, and drive it into the garage to the assigned mechanic. I even had a fancy clicker which allowed me to open and close the automatic door opener. It was a great job that did not really require any specific talent other than an ability to drive a car.

Up to that date, the fastest car I had ever had the luxury of driving was a Dodge Stealth -- which was actually a nice car, with plenty of get-up-and-go.

Unfortunately, my job was to drive the cars and I was never informed of why they were in for service, what was wrong with them, or any other pertinent details that would otherwise be considered as "common sense".

It was almost the end of the day, and I needed to bring one last car in for the night, because this particular vehicle could not be left out on the lot overnight. With only ten minutes left in the work day, I ran out with the keys, to the third row, and there hiding behind a full-sized pickup, was a 1998 Dodge Viper. It was a red convertible and it had to be brought inside because it belonged to the owner and he did not want it left out for vandals to breathe on.

My knees started shaking because this was to be an exotic short trip through the lot -- the long way around -- and finally into the garage. As I got closer, I pulled the keys out of my pocket, a quick flip of the wrist turned off the car's alarm and I slid into the driver's seat of this beautiful sports car.

Taking in every look and feel that the car had to offer, I slowly slid the key into the ignition, pressed in the clutch and listened to the ten-cylinder engine come to life.

It was music to my ears

I was so engrossed by the opportunity to drive this magnificent car, that I had forgotten something very important back in the shop. I forgot my door clicker and so I stopped the car, put on the e-brake and ran inside to get my clicker and open the door.

It only took a few minutes, but what I was not told about the car, was that it was actually there to have a fuel line replaced -- a fuel line that was leaking and spraying highly combustible fuel all over the exhaust manifold. And, having taken the long way back to the shop, ensured that the engine was already warm.

I opened the door to the garage, and as it was the end of the shift, half of the mechanics were just standing around. Their gaze immediately went to the seventy thousand dollar sports car and the billow of smoke that had begun emerging from under the hood.

I ran for the fire extinguisher, but it was already too late, the once beautiful sports car was engulfed in flames. The owner had dashed through the shop as word spread to the front office, and I was pulled away from the car as the fire consumed it.

I joined him on the back of that old flatbed as we watched an exotic sports car be reduced to a pile of rubber and steel. As the sun set, the barbecued pit viper was eventually put out by a swarm of fire trucks. To this day, I still never knew the name of the car whose life ended so tragically.

It was just one, of the many difficult and sticky situations I got into, which led up to my name sake as Pickles. Over the next year, Dan and I got into more predicaments than most people go through their entire life. Stay tuned for the next crazy adventure of Pickles.

THE END

Image Sources:

Dodge Stealth - http://supercars.net/blog/1991-dodge-stealth-rt-turbo/
Dodge Viper - http://myclassicgarage.com/vehicles/24883/1998-dodge-viper
Engine - http://gaaclassiccars.com/vehicles/24483/1998-dodge-viper-gts

Sort:  

congrats on your @bestofph and @c-squared votes like keep up the good work and dont quit inspiring people and making quality content that you are doing right now

Thank you @kendallron for your continued support an assistance in gettiong me acclimated to the community. You are truly an asset to Steemit.

those words humbled my internal organs hahaha...well you got what it takes and im always here to support you buddy

Wow what a great story! Hahahahaha this is very entertaining!

Thanks @smaeunabs, I do have a habit of telling funny, tall tales. Expect many more in the coming days.

Thank you @beyonddisability, I look forward to sharing many more -- slightly exaggerated -- tales from my younger years.

Congratulations @cebunick, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Totally amazing @bestofph and the group from discord for featuring my post, for all of the lifting votes and comments too. Looking forward to my next post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for the upvote and resteem @c-squared I really appreciate your support to this growing community.

You received an upvote as your post was selected by the Community Support Coalition, courtesy of @steemph.antipolo

@arabsteem @sevenfingers @steemph.antipolo

Thank you onec again @steemph.antipolo for your continued support, and for the amazing upvote from @arabsteem and @sevenfingers.

Congratulations @cebunick! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43