How Does It Feel To Get Rid Of All Of Your Things?

in #story7 years ago

When Marc and I set out to find a life outside of Montreal Canada and away from the grind of the day to day treadmill, we had to get rid of anything we weren't taking with us since we didn't really have a place to store them.

us.jpg

This time we thought if we were to leave things with Marc's parents (the only place we could if we did) we would some how set ourselves up to go back to Canada.

parent.jpg

We would like to permanently escape the cold. It gets rough in Montreal during winters.

snow.jpg

snow1.jpg

I suppose it sounds to most that we may be dreaming and fooling ourselves. We quit our jobs took what some people would think of as little money, and we just left with one way tickets to Mexico starting with a month in the Yucatan in a not so desirable town called Tizimin.

yuc.jpg

We left earlier than our month allowed us at the airbnb and went to Cancun for a few days before we came to Acapulco.

Before leaving Canada, we donated or threw out all of our furniture, clothes, shoes, some electronics, including a new electronic keyboard that we had just purchased for three hundred dollars and never used. We gave it to a happy child. We gave away art supplies that we had just purchased, and all kinds of other things old and new.

We only kept a pair of boots and a jacket in Marc's parents closet, in case we visit. Oh and some documents just in case.

What we took with us on the plane, is what we can carry. A laptop which is broken now and the inside of Marc's computer which is now hooked up without a tower, we purchased a used monitor here in Acapulco.

put.jpg

We brought a magic bullet blender which is small and useful, a spiralizer which I use all the time to prep veggies.

bullet.jpg

spiral.jpg

Of course we brought a camera that we bought years ago that is pretty decent and a small pocket camera. We also brought some odd accessories for the camera which we don't really use but that stuff is difficult to part with.

We brought a few clothes, one pair of shoes and a pair of sandals each. My shoes fell apart in Cancun so I was left with only a pair of sandals. Both Marc and I had our sandals stolen one night while on the beach as well as our clothes. So we got another pair the next day. I had to go bare foot to get a cheap pair of flip flops which are now chipped away at the side but I'm afraid no others will be as comfortable so I am hanging on to them until they disintegrate.

Right after I snapped this photo one of my sandals got swept away into the bay
san.jpg

So once again I went barefoot to purchase another pair of flip flops

sand.jpg

We have purchased a little single stove burner, a pot and some plastic dishes so now it feels like we have too many things again.

pot.jpg

It's weird that I have lived so many years and was even married owning a total of two homes during that time,which were lost to the bank and two others later on which were sold and I broke even. Marc and I also have lived together for sixteen years accumulating this and that.

Now the little that we own at this point, seems like too much as I wonder what will be the best way to pack all of it in order to go to our next destination.

It's funny because in less than three weeks we will be leaving our airbnb and we actually don't have a clue where we will be lugging our stuff.

We are living on the edge and flying by the seat of our pants.

Last year we never would have imagined that this is how our life would be. It's pretty crazy!

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (2).gif

Thanks for stopping by

Sort:  

What an exciting journey!

If you have a dream, go for it. We have one life. Do what you love. I also know it's challenging. Glad that you made your move.

Hope everything will be alright. Enjoy your stay! :)

Those wishes mean a lot to me thank you so much!

You're welcome! :)

What an amazing journey you are on @carolynstahl! I will admit this is something I do really want to try. It's incredible how much are possessions can hold us down and affect us psychologically. I'm always fascinated about that aspect of things. How have you felt thus far? Do you feel more free? Is this the type of lifestyle you foresee as more of a long term thing?

Would love to hear your thoughts regarding my recent post about true boldness and how to harness it: Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid

Thanks so much. We have certainly freed ourselves from a life of daily grind on the chain gang which has always been a thorn in our side. We like to create and have free time to do so. The only thing is we are faced with the challenge of not knowing how we will ideally create an income that aligns with our needs.

We actually can't return to Canada right now even if we wanted to because we don't have the plane fare. This is both scary and exciting at the same time. We don't know what will become of the next month here in Mexico.

I'm excited for you! In my experience, being put in these types of positions really forced me to think creatively and it was through this need to critically think that I've discovered so many new and exciting ways to engage with life. Many of which support and sustain the new ways in which I live! I'm confident that you two will find the way. Cheers!

Love this story! Last couple of years I've been getting rid of material things and it feels so good! :)

Thank you so much. Traveling light feels good!

I love the risks you guys are taking. I'm inspired to go through my apartment and donate or throw out the things I'm simply not using. Not planning to pack up and leave just yet, but want to maintain an open space free of clutter. Thanks for sharing! Loved the photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57