THE OLD WHITE GUY SPEAKS OUT

in #story6 years ago

Time to approach a touchy subject...Minorities.
I know that most of you won’t be able to relate to what it’s like to be in a minority since races and ethnicities have combined to live in harmony these days... Men and women and people who aren’t really certain which gender they identify with, may all use the same restroom. Girls and boys now join the neutral gender Scouts.
Dude looks like a lady.
People tend to forget about folks like me...the old straight white guy.

All the catchy offensive phrases that we used to say ….you can fill in the blanks…
Blacks are (expletive) _____s
Mexicans are a bunch of ____ ______s
Orientals _____like_____
Gays are _______
_____the Indians...

...the list goes on...nobody says this shit anymore (in public anyway).
You all know it’s not cool to say the “n” word or the “q” word (in public anyway).
Everyone respects everyone else’s space ( or so they say).
#metoo and all that.
I get it.

Inclusion is the order of the day.
No exclusions...everybody say what you want ..be who you wanna be....Oh yeah….except for one group of people: The Straight White Working Man.

Ya’ll have no idea what it’s like to be a member of a minority. I’ll attempt to give you a peek inside my world: The view from a Straight White Working Man.

Yep that’s right...I’m White
I’m straight...don’t judge
I’m married too.
I used to work, but after forty some thousand hours I pulled the pin.
I’m a senior citizen. I take advantage of senior discounts.
You probably think I have more money than I do….I worked for everything I have. The government made sure I gave them their “fair” share too.
I’m a fucking veteran (I didn’t ask for it but I served).
I speak from experience.
I paid for all the benefits that I’m entitled to, so don’t give me that look.

Sometimes we tend to forget the fact that God made us different colors. I don’t apologise for being white...It’s like Lady Gaga says, “ I was born this way”, or something to that effect.
White is beautiful...White is right ( is that politically correct?).
I form my own opinions.
I take very little shit
I fight as a last resort. Please don’t push me too far.
I try to live a Christian life, but fuck with my family and you’ld swear I was the devil incarnate.
Yeah, I was born this way.

I abhor corrupt government... rich white men acting all high and mighty with wealth that was handed to them, screwing everyone and everything in their path, with no regard for anything more than their own greedy selves.
I detest bigotry, racism and hypocrites.
I can't apologise for the sins of my forefathers or those who continue to exercise and abuse “ white privilege”.
I’ve learned from their evil and I’m better than that.
Please don’t blame me because I “look like them”.

So that’s a little bit of what it’s like to be a minority...pretty weird huh?
I know there aren’t many of us, but we’re still here. We don’t expect pity or any type of free ride. We can take care of ourselves. All we ask is to cut us some slack.

It wasn’t always this way. Back in the day, the S.W.W.M...Straight White Working Man... was a common sight, but now we’ve all but faded into distant memory. Soon we’ll all be gone and you won’t have to deal with us any more, but until then...WE’RE WHITE, WE’RE BRIGHT, WE BAT FROM ONE SIDE OF THE PLATE, AND THAT’S STILL ALRIGHT.

Keep the drinks comin’ and and I’ll stay all night. Alls I ask is accept me for who I am...I’ll do the same for you.
Peace

Sort:  

To be honest, I don't get it! I mean, whats in a name. As a kid I was called all sorts of things. Didn't bother me really. I could give as good as I got back then.

Now though.... Wtf!

Not so long back my adult daughter was prosecuted and found guilty of racism.... Why?, because she called a taxi driver a name!

She wouldn't normally, but she had been out drinking and he refused to bring her home.... Don't no why... But anyway, she called him a name. Now she has a criminal record for racism.

It's pathetic in my opinion, that calling a person a name can be classed as racism.

No violence just verble communication!

What ever happend to that old saying... Sticks and stone may break my bones but names will never hurt me!

Grrr... Well, my blood has reached a rather warm simmer now so I'm off to jump in the pool.

I think we're living in a world where what you say is more important that what you do. That sucks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50