Familiar Strangers: A Tedx Talk About How The Strangers In Our Lives Create A Powerful Ripple of Change

in #story7 years ago


I am a powerful manifesting machine. It sometimes freaks out my friends how quickly I can bring my ideas into form. One of the biggest things on my bucket list was do be a presenter on the Tedx stage.

One thing you should always remember when you are manifesting is to ask, believe, let it go and then receive.

I was taking yoga teacher training at the time and during one of our classes our teacher showed us a Ted Talk. I leaned over and told one of my fellow yogi sisters that it was always my dream to present on the Ted stage. Little did I know that although she was smiling on the inside she was saying, "Bullshit lady, that will never happen." (she informed me of this later..haha).

That evening after returning home I received a FB message from one of the youth I work with informing me that she was volunteering for Tedx in our city. She asked if I had ever heard of it before. I was so shocked because I had no idea that we had this opportunity in our community and I went to the page as quickly as I could only to find out that submissions closed earlier the day before.

This where I have learned from the past to NEVER SAY NEVER! I decided I was going to submit a proposal despite the deadline and two days later I received my acceptance letter. I was so pumped. Ask, believe, let go, receive.

This presentation is very special to me. It really makes you think about all of the people that you see in your life on a daily basis but that you don't really know. What would happen if you crossed the invisible barrier between you and the strangers in your life? What stories would you hear? What relationships could be built? How could a small action create a ripple of change?

Sort:  

Great Job Cara--and welcome aboard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50