You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Shoes for an Old English Lady

in #story7 years ago

It is so funny but when I saw your article, I thought of my bike I rode in the late 50s. I would ride it to go to the park and to my piano lessons. In SF, the hills were so steep that I hated riding it up, but coming down was a breeze. Once again synchronicity has come into play because when you talked about restoring a vintage Raleigh bike it brought up memories of my childhood back in the 50's and 60's. Here on Steemit, I recently joined the #oldtimers group which of course inspired me to start writing about memories of the old days. In fact I thought about your your Uncle Midge who you wrote about of his growing up days. So here is where the synchronicity comes into play ....... this past week I started a series on Down Memory Lane - Remembering the Old Times, where I write about the fond memories of days when everything was simple and happier. In fact I posted my first article this morning. Doing this memory post was a happy experience for me and I decided to continue down this path. The Universe really has a way of directing us in the right direction and its so amazing how things work the way they do. So here's to Uncle Midge and all the wonderful memories we all have. Continue writing because it does have an impact on people like me. Thank-you.....Cabbagepatch.

Sort:  

Wow, I can't imagine riding up the hills of San Fran! It's it fun to reminisce? I find myself doing that more as I age. I try not to indulge in it too much though. For me, some of those memories now seem much better than they were at the time I lived them. Age has given me rose-colored glasses. : )

It's wonderful how the Universe draws to us whatever we hold in our consciousness...the Law of Attraction!

I'm glad you're enjoying your writing and the strolls down memory lane! I was raised in the 70's and 80's and the world seems so different now. Some of the changes are good, some are bad. Interacting with the younger people here on Steemit has given me such a different perspective on many things. Thank you for your thoughtful comment!

For the first time since I joined Steemit in May, I actually had fun writing about memories of days past. It gave me such pleasure remembering all the little things that I had forgotten, including riding uphill with my bike in SF. When you're young, the uphill battle was less challenging than it is now. Your bike story really brought back wonderful recollections of how I traveled around back then. I am so thrilled you took something old and restored it with love and care. You are really an amazing person!

I'm so glad you're enjoying your journey here and the post brought back some good memories for you. This project has brought me a lot of joy, it was awful to see something like this so neglected. I had heard about the great reputation and following for these bikes and had to buy it. Supposedly, the quality began to decline after the mid-60's and the mid-to-late 50's bikes were considered the best made. Thank you @cabbagepatch! Cheers to the weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50