You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Albert: A Short Story

in #story6 years ago

Blessings to your relative AND to the St. Francis staff for not giving up to save your brother's life! 💙 (I don't understand why the local hospital refused to try or at the very least wouldn't call another hospital that they felt was better equipped to treat him.)

Knowing why you wrote this story, how personal it is for you, made it nearly impossible for me to feel much for empathy for Albert. (I realize that having life and death decisions on one's shoulders all day long, day after day, can break one down and I can't say how I would bear up personally to that sort of pressure so I try to be fair in my thinking.) Still, the consequences of his choices weren't limited only to himself (though your story made sure that he'll be paying those).

🤗 This emoji doesn't nearly suffice for a proper hug that I want to give you for sharing your memories and for how difficult it must have been for you to write this story.

Sort:  

Thank you for the hug :))
I love St. Francis. My brother has expressed his gratitude to the hospital over the years in many ways. An interesting anecdote: back in those years, Perry Como used to go to the pediatric ward to cheer up the kids. Did it without publicity or fanfare. A real mensch.
Yes, it was difficult to find empathy for Albert, but your analysis is spot on, I think. The daily pressure builds and we are not our best selves because of it, sometimes.
I hope you and your family are having a peaceful and not too "stuffy" Thanksgiving holiday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43