Once--Eyes in the Night

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Once, I woke up to a pair of beautifully shaped eyes.


IMG_1301.PNG


Large, round eyes unlike anything I had been accustomed to, stared at me through the blackness of night. They were accompanied by a hypnotic voice. A voice that enveloped me with songs, songs with foreign melodies that were sung in words I didn’t understand.

I say once, but this happened over and over again, like a recurring dream, for months. In the middle of the night, I would open my eyes to darkness, a darkness that was complete. And through the darkness I would become aware of a melody. Then, slowly, I would become aware of the two eyes peering out from the darkness, their gaze locked on me longingly, lovingly, feverishly.


Once is a series of micro memoirs inspired by a book of the same title in which Wim Wenders, the German filmmaker, uses a combination of photographs and text to reveal what he considers to be the beginnings of untold stories, which he encourages his readers/viewers to complete.

Similarly, I offer these moments of my life to you as if they were not my own, as if they were in no way connected to me, which in many cases they no longer seem to be. I encourage you to consider these moments as beginnings, beginnings of stories or travels that you are free to write, live, or complete as you see fit.

Previous Once Post: Lights Out


If you enjoyed this post, please also consider reading my This Is Japan series to learn about everyday life in Japan as seen, discovered, and experienced through the eyes of a foreigner. You can read my latest post here, The Toy Maker.


Image Credits: Pixabay image heavily edited.

Sort:  

Last word in you write very touching me for doit!!

Thank you. I'm not sure what you mean by do it, but I'll give something a try.

i like the suspence hidden

Interesting. I hadn't thought of suspense being built up. I like hearing what you get out of this. Thank you.

falling from the tall building, being chased by killers, all these are part of night dreams which never come true.

That's true. They are. But this wasn't a dream. Sometimes life can be dreamlike.

It sounds kind of creepy in the beginning, but I guess that's your repeating dream, like other people dream of loosing beloved ones or dying themselves... I wonder if you still dream about that? Your dream sounds like you wake up and you just don't know anymore if it's real or not!

This is turning into a workshop for me. I'm going to have to look back and choose my words again. Rather than waking up and wondering if my dream was real, this is about waking up mesmerized by reality and finding the reality hard to believe.

i love story
If you vote me, you will not be able to leave anybody with you, you will vote as you go ahead but we will give support to each other

I'm sorry, but I don't understand what you're trying to say. I do understand the vote for my post part.

Hi friend how are you, I want to express my feelings that if I see that two eyes in night, I think my heart beat may not stop. Any way joking, it's sweet to express such sweet feeling of two beautiful eyes.. Thanks, have a great day friend.

Thank you for your comment, friend. I did fall in love with these eyes and marry them a couple years later.

Oh that's good, love so eternal and divine. Please keep your love with love. Thanks for replying, if you like to come to my post, it will be great love to me too.

Hi long time no see.. great

It has been a while, hasn't it? How have things been working out for you on Steemit?

そうですね。ひさしぶりですよね。Steemitはどうですか?上手くやっていますか?

はい(^^) やってるだけで楽しいです。仮想通貨に関して勉強して行きたいと思います。

仮想通貨は面白いですね。沢山の種類がありますのでどこから勉強始まれば良いのか僕は分からないです。でも僕も仮想通貨に関して詳しくなりたいと思っています。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48