My time as a school teacher Part 3

in #story8 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

On Tuesday, I met with the assistant principal and he explained that they were going to offer me a contract. He was not sure whether I would be a history teacher, teach another subject area or whether I would be a school based substitute, but they wanted to give me a job. In the meantime, they would try to give me as many substituting opportunities as possible so I could learn the culture and so the students would get to know me. I taught every school day until the end of the school year. Oftentimes I was at Anonymous, but when I was not my absence was noted and I always welcomed back. I vividly remember that a teacher appreciation day was held on a Wednesday (a half day for students). At the end of dismissal, I was headed for my car when one of the teachers raced up behind me and asked where I was going. I told her I was headed home. She asked me to please attend their meeting. It was a dinner celebration for all of the adults on staff. The first thing that caught my attention was that a staff member led a prayer asking for God to bless their meal. There was music and gifts for everyone in attendance. My sons were visiting and several of the people on staff asked if they could “make a plate for [my] boys?” I remember leaving and wondering if this was one of the few places that really was a family.

That summer I had to take classes in order to attain certification. Two history vacancies were available; I was slated to teach sixth grade history. Anonymous was a year round extended day school, my contract started on August 01, 2004, that meant I was supposed to report for work in late July.

Thus ends my year as a substitute. The roller coaster is about to go crazy and teaching is not what I thought it was at this point in my life. While substituting is honorable, it is not teaching and I was about to get my world rocked. The pictures in this series were taken during the transcontinental train trip I took when I wrote this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71