Do you give money to beggers???

in #story7 years ago

image
Image source:-google

I am curious if you give money to the people that ask for them on the street or railway station or on roads. Honestly i dont and not because i am cheap or something but because i dont think this is way to help them.

I saw many times that when we give money, most of them use it on wrong way like playing card, drink or smoke. I allready seen them by it.

image
Image source :- Google

Once one beggers come and ask for money and said i didnt eat anything please give some money, one person beside me gave money and just see while we pass ahead of that place, he is smoking instead of food..

image
Image soruce:-google

After some days there is one another beggers come and ask money ans said same that give money and didnt eat anything from long time. This time i told him that wait here i give you some food, then he refuse food and ask money that give money i will buy food by slef. Then i told i have some food and its will sure satisfied your hunger then he continues refuse food and asked money but i didn't give and he went. So his motive is money that from it what he can play card and create more money.

If they really hungry then sure they will take food and not argue with us. If you want to help them then do it by food instead of money unless you are sure about them,it would be more useful. there are some people who has ability to work but still begging and its sad thing.

imageimage

Sort:  

I most certainly do : For are we not all beggars ?

Mosiah 4

16 And also, ye yourselves will succor those that stand in need of your succor; ye will administer of your substance unto him that standeth in need; and ye will not suffer that the beggar putteth up his petition to you in vain, and turn him out to perish.

17 Perhaps thou shalt say: The man has brought upon himself his misery; therefore I will stay my hand, and will not give unto him of my food, nor impart unto him of my substance that he may not suffer, for his punishments are just—

18 But I say unto you, O man, whosoever doeth this the same hath great cause to repent; and except he repenteth of that which he hath done he perisheth forever, and hath no interest in the kingdom of God.

19 For behold, are we not all beggars? Do we not all depend upon the same Being, even God, for all the substance which we have, for both food and raiment, and for gold, and for silver, and for all the riches which we have of every kind?

I give money 1/4 of the time. The main reason I DON'T give money is because I personally dont have much money, but to me, it does make me feel good to give to someone. So many times I think "will they spend this money productively or just go buy another bottle of alcohol or a bag of drugs" ...but you know... all I can do is give with my heart and hope that it has some kind of impact on them. There could also be the possibility that the person begging isnt even poor-- here we have beggars who beg and then go climb in their fancy cars after a day of panhandling. So thats always a possibility. But theres also the possibility the person actually may be hungry, need the money. Its not easy for a homeless person to break the cycle of homelessness. Many times mental illness comes into play on why people live on the streets. Many times its our veterans who fought for our country who are standing to the side begging. Maybe you just got stuck in the vicious cycle and now have no way to look presentable for interviews so you cant get a job because you cant get a proper bath.

Sigh idk long story short if I have a couple bucks to spare I give it gladly. But I'm that kinda person lol. Thanks for making me think! :)

All valid points @jennypottuh, even the one about those begging to keep their fancy lifestyle...some different kind of burden that must be eh?

I believe that those who have enough and share are blessed...and those who have little and share are divine.

And you're just that kinda person...~smiles~

Haha awww thanks! Yes this topic really got me thinking, because its true, theres always the possibility that the person you are giving to actually is just scamming you, and then because of the thought that birju had "if you give a man a fish he eats for a day teach a man to fish he eats forever"... but then I think about times where I have been needing and strangers have helped me, and I think if what I give or do has the possibility to make a small difference, even if its just to bring them a smile, its worth it.

@birjudanak this was a really good post!! it really got me thinking a lot today :)

better a beggar than a banker scam you...yes/no?

just don't allow either in your home...that's just too altruistic ...imo

I speak from experience :-/

Aww oh no. Well at least you learned a lesson from it and can now pass the wisdom on! You seem like a really nice person. :)

I agree. I took a woman to a store to purchase food but she grew angry I refused cash. When I was in need, food was appreciated. Good post.

Yes my dear you don't know but here they run business of beginning and they also run union of it they not allow other beggers to seat or beg in their place and most worried thing is that they also give money to owner of that place where they daily go for beg and i will think to make post for it toom

Ahh that is a hard life

a union of beggars? hmmmm I'm not sure that's going in the right direction...such different perspectives in this world...muscling in and taking over territory...harsh!

yes they have it and they can only beg in particular area and if some beggars find other asking beg in that area then they beat them or complain to leader.

I'll say it again...harsh!

I do not give money to the poor, I can only offer products, because there are very few real beggars, the rest work so much, we have a whole mafia

Thats good thing

I do, on many occasions, there are many homeless where I live. I've been there so I've even helped some get their live's in order...if that what they truly want.

I usually just offer some looneys and tooneys (yeah I know...crazy money in Canada ~smiles~ ) and say with a smile "may this serve you well my brother/sister/fitb...peace."

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

Helping someone is best thing but till they not break trust. If you help someone then that is best thing in world.

simply no..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birju from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56