You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Town and The Courthouse Massacre of 1912 - Hillsville, VA

in #story7 years ago

What a great piece of history. My Mom's family left Virginia (It was one state then) just before the war. My GGG Grandfather thought it to be a good idea to move prior to joining the Union Army. They moved west after the war, and life in Virginia prepared them for that. My Grandfater was born in Kansas in 1890 as the family moved west to Oregon and Washington.

Thanks for a wonderful rendition of 'local' history.

Sort:  

So glad you enjoyed it. I love the history and stories from that time period in general. My family never left they literally settled in these mountains right of the boat and never moved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62507.39
ETH 2451.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64