The beginning, four generations later.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

It obviously started a long time ago. Before my great great grandparents. My fathers side were Abenaki Indians. They're a group of Indians from the north- east of the United States.

But many moons laters, well, here I am!
From when I was a little girl this is what I remember. Family gatherings, grandma and grandpa.

Six aunts, six uncles, and many cousins. Holidays, and birthdays, camping! We were a close family, always spending time together. As everyone got older and many things happening in between, the family stopped getting together and all these great memories came to a fast halt. I was only ten.

Anyways, eleven years later here I am! My grandmother is still here with us, she's a strong 83.
Her name is Betty Cora. She has dementia. But let me tell you, I've never seen such a strong willed woman.
There's not a question of where my strength comes from. My moms side are fighters too.
This is Betty.

She is at the stage where she's confused about where she is at times, and confusing her kids, not remembering where her late husband is, or her late daughter, my beloved aunt Cathy. But on a positive note, like I said she's tough and hanging in there!

My dad is 56. What an awesome father, son and friend to many in my small town. He's an excavator, which is someone who digs septic holes for tanks, builds driveways, digs ponds, levels out land, someone who like he says " paints with his excavator in the dirt " . He iinspires me everyday to strive for greater and better things. He's a big part of who I am and the woman I've become.

My brother and sister, ages 17 and 25.

We're very close. I couldn't go a day without them, they're my strength and happiness.
My sister just a had her first baby, my niece Maddie Rose.

That's Maddie rose. My I can't forget my nephew, not by blood but by heart, Barry or we call him (bubba) , where you'll see him in the bottom picture being held by my pregnant at the time, sister.

Well there you have it, four generations. From grandmother to great grandmother. From dad to grandpa. And sister to aunt. I love my family!

Hope you enjoyed my family journey! Upvote and follow and I'll do the same back!
Bekka.

Sort:  

Lovely post but you need to edit one of your photos as it is upside down
Upvoted

Thank you, I don't see which photo it is can you tell me? They're all right on my screen.

Second one from the bottom - Maddie Rose.

Thank you not sure why it did that! Fixed it I hope!

Much better... And, what a sweetie!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57