TALES BY MOONLIGHT. OLD STORIES MOMENTS THAT CAN'T BE FORGOTTEN.

in #story6 years ago

You must be a Nigerian before you can get the full clue of the above topic. SWEEEETT


Hello STEEMIT folks, the Bat is here.


Talking about past moments as a Nigerian and a 19th century individual, you are poised to know the legendary "TALES BY MOONLIGHT".

image.png
credit

This legendary Tv show and book is one reality I can't forget due to the outstanding moments shared by mates, families and friends.

image.jpeg
image source

When I was a child, I will always rush all my activities for the day so that I can catch up with Tales by moonlight, sometimes I skip my duties so that I could be among others children when the show starts. I can't really remember the days for this show but I assume it's on Thursdays.

This television show was deduced from the African culture of story telling. Most clans in Nigeria always sit by the fire side at night with the moon smiling down to the earth with a bright face. This kind of moment are presumed to be the best time to talk words of benefit into children's mind.

image.png
image source

Stories that are passed from the old ones are passed upon the children by an elder or a well respected member of the community. At home, the father always take the responsibilities of these scenarios. Children from different homes gather around the fire with the moon shinning from above, to listen to interesting stories.

Each stories holds a moral lesson and basics to argue upon. This traditional way of passing knowledge was reconstructed into what we NAIJA know as " Tales by moonlight".

If watched and followed on NTA, you all will notice that an old man always call for story time. This old moment is one of my best if I must confess.

image.png
Nigeria Television Authority

Thank you for reading.

So tell me, what TV show was one of your best during your childhood era?

Sort:  

Lol... I really enjoyed watching tales by moonlight then. I wonder who still watches NTA now though. Your post brings back old memories!

I still watch NTA till this age of mine. Though it is kind of rusty. Thanks for liking the memories

Yes. Indeed.

Hahahahaha, you are one hell of a guy. Sometimes, i wonder how you do your thing. Yes you are not perfect but you exhibit perfection. Tales by moonlight? A television show i can't forget. I wish i could have those days back.

My dear, you can say that again.

lol it was fun back in the day. but i doubt they still feature it on NTA now.

I doubt that either.

You just refreshed my brain as regards tales by moonlight. Most a times i sacrifice my meal as a punishment just to watch it then because we dont have TV in our house then.

That's hilarious but worth it brother.

I used to love it then when I was little. Never missed it. I can still recite their tune.

Hahahahaha. I don't miss it either. I loved that Thursday evening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92