You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not All Lighthouses are Built to Guide Ships

in #story6 years ago (edited)

The story is well balanced and creates a good climax. It's a classic horror story.

My reader's engagement started here:

It ain’t those ships that need us. It’s the town.”

I liked the 1st person narration but I can't help asking me what it would have been with a third person limited perspective.
The first person contributes in hooking the reader and helping us see the happening through the protagonist's eyes but at the same time I felt that it "reassured me" a bit too much about the fact that the protagonist is alive and able to tell us what happened that night. Overall, your writing style is neat and flowing with realistic dialogues; especially I liked how you characterised Mr. Wallace. I thought that between the many nice comments of solidarity, you would have liked one about the story content. I wouldn't call this story "Lovecraftian", I don't see any typical element of his world, but a traditional horror one. Last thing, I'm happy you joined us, it was a nice surprise and I think that you'll feel at home between our writers. Oh, very last thing: don't shitpost. Never. Keep high the quality as you did till now! Resteemed for more visibility.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64