You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being an Author Can Really Suck!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Writing is i hard indeed and sometimes treated unfairly on this forum. Frequently I see posts with just a simple pic getting the same rewards as a good article. But will continue writing anyway. Amazing how you got 64 votes with just 20 views by the way. This is one of the things i see is wrong with Steem. Not with you getting the reward but people upvoting without reading...

Sort:  

@attalis. Man, you've got the whole thing mixed up.

You just started on this platform last month! You need to give it time. It took me AGES to build up a decent following to the point where people appreciate what I write. Does it really matter how many votes you gain or how many people have read you article when you start out? People who vote me are doing so because I've earned their RESPECT and they EXPECT a certain standard of quality that I've shown in the past. Does it really matter if they skip over one of our posts (possibly to read later), given that Steemit is heaving with so many of them? Over time, people vote for the PERSON behind the post too. Please bear that in mind.

I started out just as you did. From scratch. You gotta stay positive, man. As I mentioned above, the primary thing for you to do now is build up a strong portfolio. And that will only come to fruition over time. Have patience, be consistent and everything after will fall into place.

We are all offered the very same chance on Steemit so please persevere and take advantage of yours.

Thanks @ezzy for the supporting words. I agree with you, it doesn't matter if people upvote you, me or anyone else if they read the post later. But frequently they don't. I have checked many such posts since i began noticing the behavior. Just voting for the person behind the post without ever reading doesn't seem fair to me. The fact that people take the time to read someone's post should (in my view) be the benefit of having followers, not to be given blind upvotes. Anyway, the feeling this is wrong with steemit is not directed to you of course and given the fact you provided such a detailed response shows you are one of the good guys. I just would like the system to be fairer and in my opinion (and many others i have read about this topic) this is not helping. Anyway, i hope you will continue to get more views and upvotes. You got mine atleast ;)

Thanks for your kind words, man. But I still "feel" your frustrations. Please don't give up. You'll find almost every facet of everyday life here within the pages of Steemit. Political voting, circle jerking, favouritism. It's all here to see and I consider it very much an eco-system of it's own. But Steemit is also still extremely young and, more importantly, growing in vast numbers on a daily basis. Please realise that, given enough time on this platform and forming so many connections with other users, it's almost impossible to keep tabs on everybody's blog. That's pretty much unavoidable. Though the stand-out people are the ones who have transcended into more of a "brand" on the platform (pertaining within the realms of Steemit of course). And that's where the term "reputation" comes into play.

Here on Steemit, people vote for people. When they get the time (especially with blogs like mine that take time to read and aren't loaded with images. Hence the title of my post.), who's to say they won't marathon through your blog down the line? At least it's there for when the time does arise, right? I mean, does it matter if people discover your blog today, tomorrow or next year?

Sorry to go on, but I do feel passionately about this and need people to understand the machinations of how Steemit works. Too many new users get disheartened when the results they envisage are not delivered within the time period they expect. Patience is a key ingredient to your success on this platform. And I honestly hope you persist and find your true worth on Steemit.

Have faith, buddy. It will work out on here if you want it bad enough.

Cheers man, will continue going. I am not giving up that easily. And whether i 'make it' here on steemit or not, i am still learning a great deal from writing and researching for my posts anyway. Would be honored if you would look at one if you have some time and give me some feedback. If you like of course. Already happy you are taking the time to respond to what i sent to you today anyway. Will follow you going forward. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43