You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things I Learned From Being Homeless

in #story7 years ago

Thank you for sharing your story! Really sorry to hear you and your kids had to go through this. I actually always assumed there would be quite some organisations that would help with a situation like this. Especially with kids involved....

Sort:  

Unfortunately my kids are too old for the organizations... Most do not help boys ages 12 to 17.

Yes I was really surprised by reading that! I wish you good luck raising awareness and thanks for sharing your story! What is your opinion by the way on giving homeless people money? I tend to buy them something to eat bur recently read an article that said to give them money as it gives them back a bit of their dignity. I also bought a bunch of underwear for them as it seems that's something a lot of them lack and are too shy to ask for.

My honest opinion is to not donate money to the organizations. Most of them are worthless. I will actually be going on tour later this year, explaining this is one of my mainpoints- I'll post videos here. If you choose to go that route- research the org well. Find out where your donation REALLY goes. If you choose to donate to people, I agree cash is best. It is very degrading having to beg on the side of the street. If you do not feel comfortable donating cash, then gift cards are the way to go. Make sure it's to a store that's easily accessible to where you find the person. There will be many who disagree with me, about how donating to local charities is best because that way you know the money is being used for something "good", but unfortunately the money rarely goes to what a person actually needs. With that being said, yes, there are a few honorable charities out there, it's just difficult to find with the sheer amount of scam 501c3's that pay themselves under the guise of helping people in need :(

Thanks for your honest reply! Will keep it in mind and I'm looking fwd to your upcoming updates! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77