You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AMSTEL (A Birthday Tribute to a True Friend)

in #story8 years ago

Nice tribute. Dogs are indeed wonderful friends.
We had beagles during our early marriage. One female helped us raise the boys, living to about 15. She was the gentlest dog I'd ever seen. She got deaf too soon, so if she got on a trail when hiking she wouldn't return when we called. We had to wait for her to wear herself out before she'd return, worn out but happy.
Our Dane is my faithful shadow, only leaving my side when I leave. She's doing well for an 8 yr old Great Dane, but we see her aging now. Hopefully she'll keep going strong for several more years.

Sort:  

Thanks @anotherjoe. My wife and I come across quite a few former beagle owners on our walks. It seems that once someone has spent time with a beagle they have a soft spot for them. Amstel sounds so much like your female beagle, he needs to expend his boundless energy or he finds mischief to get into. We've discovered hiding treats and letting him "find them with his nose" works almost as well as wearing him out physically. Great Danes are amazing dogs too. I wish you many more healthy years with her!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32