Twice Shy By Aniekan Andikan

in #story7 years ago

twice-shy.jpg
I was chilling at the students’ park in my school, thinking about how I was going to manage the remaining 5k in my pocket till the end of the week. I was deep in thought when I got distracted.
I couldn’t help eavesdropping on her conversation over the phone after I heard ‘money’, ‘airport’, ‘car’ and ‘stranded’ in one sentence. I took an instant interest in the dark skinned girl that I was sure was not up to 20 if she was even up to 18 years.
She had a perfect round face that housed round dark eyes, a pointed little nose and tiny lips that spoke so softly. Her hair was arranged in a ponytail at her back and she naturally gave out a countenance of ultimate innocence.
Despite straining my ears so hard I couldn’t make out most of what she was saying but it seemed she was complaining about something to her father because the word ‘dad’ was repeated many times and she said dad the way only ajebutters are allowed to say it.
I went to her after the call.
‘Hi.’ I started, not totally sure if I’m qualified to talk to this rich kid.
‘Hi.’ She looked my way. Her eyelashes effortlessly gave off the effect the girls that fix artificial ones try so painfully to get.
‘Seems you are having problems. Can I be of help?’ I asked knowing it wasn’t going to be money problems because she looked like money – I inhaled deeply – and smelled like money.
‘Not really. Just a little frustrated’ she replied softly in an English that only children who went to expensive schools can command. ‘Can you talk about it?’ I enquired as the gentleman that I am.
‘Well, my dad, he just called me that he’s at the airport, getting a flight to Lagos.’ She answered worriedly. I wondered how that was a problem.
‘Are you worried his plane might crash?’ I asked in a puzzled manner.
‘No!’ She said almost immediately, her voice a bit more audible. ‘He took my car with him and all my stuffs are inside. My documents, purse, ID card, everything.’ She finished.
‘He said I should come to the airport and collect it.’ She continued since I was too speechless to say anything after hearing my car
‘I guess you are sort of stranded?’ I said finally. I must be friends with this girl.
‘No’ I was getting disappointed when she continued ‘I just need to get to the airport and retrieve my car. I need some money though.’ She said though carelessly.
I put my hand inside my pocket and peeled one Nnamdi Azikiwe note from the ten identical notes I just collected from the bank, and pointed it discreetly at her.
She looked at the money the way Goliath looked at David in that battle at the Valley of Elah.
‘Don’t worry. This will not carry me. I will call my brother. He will take me to the airport’ No no no! I have to be friends with her.
‘But it’s the airport at in the next town here, how much do you need to get there?’ I asked hoping she won’t be offended.
‘I want to charter a taxi there. 5k should do.’ She answered in her signature low voice.
It felt like she could see through into my pocket. I brought out the remaining nine notes and add for her. She collected them.
‘I will pay you back as soon as I’m back from the airport. Let’s exchange numbers.’ I got her number and dialed, her phone rang. She was legit.
She left to get her car. Since then till after two weeks now, all I hear when I dial her number is. ‘The number you dialed is switched off! Please try again later.’
Yesterday, after withdrawing 10k for my textbooks from the bank, I went to sit at the students’ park to look at the fine girls that were passing so I can judge them by what they wore and how they walked, then I heard ‘yatch’, ‘seaport’, ‘car keys’ and ‘stranded’ in one sentence. I turned and saw a fair skinned, young, beautiful, innocent looking girl talking so softly on the phone.
I just stood up and ran away. Like Lot, I never looked back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84