The Key, a very short story by Sabina Nore

in #story6 years ago

Today, I will share one of my stories with you. I have written many, but published only a few online. This exceptionally short story is one of them.



The Key


He didn't know if there was still time.
He ran up, as fast as he could, to climb on top of the book case and see if the key was still safe behind the least favorite of all his books. But alas, the key was gone.

Who took it?
When?
How did they know of his secret place?
The box could now be unlocked by someone else.
Someone else?!

A cold shiver ran down and up his spine and a million things he hadn’t thought of before suddenly clouded his mind. A chaos of incomprehensible noise and numbing silence blasted like a hurricane through his brain.

How could he allow something so precious to slip through his fingers?
He had it. No.
More than that!
Not only was it his but he was the only one who knew of its existence.
Now everything was in question. Suddenly everything was possible.
The box could now be opened by anyone in the whole wide world.

If only he would have kept it close by, close to his heart. No. Closer! Under his skin, as part of him.
There it would have been safe. There no one would have ever thought to look for it. Nobody.

Story: Sabina Nore (@anibas), November 2012
Painting: "The Desperate Man" by Gustave Courbet

Sort:  

Hmm, what could this key unlock? His heart maybe? That's why he was so desperately nervous?

Yes, what could it unlock? What could be so precious to drive one mad if lost, yet, despite of that, ever risk losing it?
I suppose, in the end, as with all tales of mystery, only the one who finds the key, and knows how to use it, can discover what it's all about. :)

Oh yes! Only the one who finds it will ever know. That's why I love such endings, they make your imagination go crazy :P

I hear this speaking of one who thought one had unique knowledge and treasured it as such discovers others may also have this key and is left in the initial shock of it and then opens to the thought of how others may relate to the treasure or gem. I have no idea what this story meant to you, but I like to see where stories take me. So I guess I share with you one possibility of it, not the right one. I like it!

I have no idea what this story meant to you, but I like to see where stories take me. So I guess I share with you one possibility of it, not the right one. I like it!
Yes, of course, and it is certainly an interesting possibility as well!

Thanks Romanie!

Hi Sabina, I used a painting of your as a header for a recent post of mine:
https://steemit.com/tarot/@zero-infinity/tarot-tuesday-4-17-18-edition-tarot-in-the-comment-section

Anybody skeptical about clicking on that link can find it in a post titled "Tarot Tuesday 4-17-18 Edition: Tarot in the Comment Section."

Hello there anibas Only the person who discovers it will ever know. That is the reason I cherish such endings, they influence your creative ability to go insane

"Creative ability to go insane" :)
Thanks @nobin2241

Hello @anibas such an interesting story of yours. So much impressive for us readers. Keep it up friend.

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Your much welcome friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45