Horror Stories from My Corporate Past (Story #1)

in #story7 years ago

AniPhone.jpg
Photo: Me in my corporate times...

It was almost midnight. The last day before the big launch day of our corporation.

We worked 6 months like crazy for that day… And I say our corporation because that’s what we were made to think.

I’ve been in the office since 8 A.M. and since there has been no time for lunch had eaten only one apple since then.

It was almost midnight. I was tired, hungry and had still to pack 60+ gift boxes for the next day’s launch event. Could not leave until it was done…

My cell phone rang from time to time. My family was tired of waiting for me… and furious too. I felt guilty and trapped between two responsibilities.

All I wanted was throwing all those boxes out of the window instead of packing them…

Finally, with some help from other unfortunate employees like me, the things were packed around 1 AM.

I ran to my car in the dark in the empty parking lot and jumped in. Picked up the phone, which had not ringed since a while already and called home.

“I’m coming”, I said.

“You may as well stay where you are. We are not waiting for you anymore.”

I drove the empty street, which I could not see well because of the tears in my eyes. My hands were shaking and I could barely feel my feet they were so weak…

Did I study for so many years to get where I am now?
Did I go to all those interviews to sort of ask to be treated this way?
Was this the dream job of mine?
WTF???

This was just one day from my previous life. My corporate life…

Although I realized at some point that it is not our corporation and that most of the things we were told about brand values and other stuff were bullshit - I am very grateful for my corporate past.

If not those experiences, I would never re-evaluate my life. I would never find myself. And I would never be able to do what I’m doing now.

Sometimes you don’t need the courage to change your life.

Sometimes all you need are painful experiences you simply want to escape!

Sort:  

Welcome to STEEM!

I can totally relate. Balance is a myth. Compromise is more like it ... But I'm still optimistic that ideal work -- whether corporate or not -- can happily co-exist with non-work. [ It's ALL life :) ]

maybe... but personally I hate compromises...

Do you blame feminism for the situation that you found yourself in?

what do you mean?

Congratulations @anialexander! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72