Getting Started as an Artist

in #story7 years ago

IMG_20170516_111915.jpgI have always loved arts and crafts, especially when it comes to making things with my own hands. As a child, I dreamed of selling things that I made, but I never really had the guts to try it. A kind word and a small push really goes a long way in getting you to take that first big step.

There were many career options that inspired me as a kid. The first that I can clearly remember is wanting to become a doctor. I realized soon enough that I was not cut out for it (mainly because I got squeamish at the sight of blood).
Then I wanted to become a teacher. It's a noble profession, no matter what anyone says about teachers these days. It was a dream, the thought of being able to inspire so many young minds really made me feel wonderful. But again, I realized I was not cut out for it.
In a similar way, I thought about becoming an artist, a writer, a chartered accountant, and most recently- a YouTuber.
All through the years, i never gave up on the one thing I loved- Art. Soon I found stained glass art. Pouring out my soul into every piece of art felt right. It relieved me of stress and other negative thoughts. I forgot about where I was and about time. I finally found something that I loved doing and something that I could immerse myself in completely.

Soon I gathered more and more pieces. I now had a collection. At first, I made them for pure enjoyment. Then one day someone asked me if I would sell my work. This was it. This is what I had been waiting for. I agreed, and sold my first pieces to her.
I want to say that it has been smooth sailing since then; but that would be a lie. Finding someone who appreciates the kind of art that I make; in the place that I live in is pretty tough. They like what I do, but there is no one to support your work. Liking and sharing pictures of your work on Facebook is easy. We all do it. But to find someone to support your work is tough.

I am happy to say that I have found some people to support my work. Some of them are my close friends. Only time will tell how far my work will go and if I will ever make my dream come true. But this is the first step towards the rest of my entrepreneurial life.

Thank you for reading.
IMG_20170516_091759_411.jpg
IMG_20170516_091940_107.jpg20170429_141033_edited.jpg20170429_140421_edited.jpg20170516_084045.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51