You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #HollowWin (Part 2)

in #story8 years ago

That was an incredible turn of events. I didn't see the end coming, and I'm still not sure how I feel about it. The bit with the cops was also a bit of a shocker, but given how corrupt police can be, I can't say I was entirely surprised. Excellent work, my friend!

Sort:  

Admittedly, I intended for the end to be pretty divisive. Rape, for me, is the most heinous crime (definitely top 3 along with child-related crimes). So, using it as a means to bookend the story was a difficult decision, but one I needed to make to drive my point home. The world is harsh, and that's how I wanted to end this story.

The police thing was inspired by real-life events here in the Philippines. It's a bit of a socio-political message that fit nicely in the grand scheme of the story. I guess the horror there comes with the realization that real life is more horrifying. Not to make accusations, but some police here are the drug protectors, and they kill their associates to cover up their involvement. Others, like in the story, are framed to pad the statistics.

I really appreciate you taking the time to read this, bro. It really means a lot! :D

Well you certainly got your point across. Life is harsh. It can be cruel and uncaring, and it can send the worst things hurtling towards the best people. I think it was an excellent decision on your part, and it really did drive the point home. Kudos to you, sir. You know me; I like reading good work, and I especially like it when it's one of my favorite authors and very good friends. :D

You honor me with you kind words, man. I really appreciate the sentiment, and the feeling is mutual :D I'm just glad that people enjoyed the read, which is quite hard considering the subject. Your summarization is extremely well put, and I'm so glad you felt that way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63