The Blackbox - ProloguesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

The Blackbox - Prologue

A short story

IMG_2584.PNG

To view the Table of Contents click here


Prologue

For years we were hidden. We went about our business while they laughed and mocked us behind our backs. We sat there next to each other, sometimes laughing. Sometimes crying. All while they watched through the dark clouded glass.

Maybe deep down inside, we all knew that we had a purpose to fulfill beyond the thick walls which surrounded the only home we'd ever known. I remember, maybe once or twice those rare but intense moments where I simply longed to leave. When there was an ache in my chest, right where my heart used to be. When I placed my palms against the cool material of the walls and cried. We all did it sometimes.

We all knew we were meant for better things, we all had that nagging feeling that we weren't where we were supposed to be. I guess that's what pisses me off the most, looking back. The fact that our intuition told us something that we refused to listen to. And for what? The darkness? I didn't hate it us much as I should have back then. But I do now. I hate it all. I hate the fact that maybe, if we had tried, if we had only listened to what our hearts and minds were trying to tell us... maybe we would have seen the light of day years ago.

But we didn't. We lived in that place. We ate, slept, bathed. We were too comfortable, I know that now. I only wish I had known it then.

We were prisoners. Captives. We only did what they wanted us to do. We only learnt what they wanted to learn. Perhaps that's why we never tried to leave. They probably programmed it into our minds somehow. I wouldn't put it past them. And if anybody knows what those terrible, terrible people are capable of, it's me.

I don't think I'll ever be able to forgive myself for not leaving sooner. And I will never forgive them. They took everything from me. I've only just learned how to ride a bike you know.

My childhood? My childhood is nonexistent because of them.

The psychologists are saying that I should forget it all. That I should move on with my new and improved life. But I don't suppose they'd understand. I'm mad at myself for not seeing it sooner when really, it was as clear as crystal, as bright as day. And now it's too late. I will never get back those years when I was trapped, willingly might I add, in the BlackBox.


Chapter one coming shortly!

  • Ally O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44