Short Story (The Hallow of the Woods): Part 1

in #story7 years ago

The Hallow of the Woods


top picture.jpg

It was a time of kings, serfs, and peasants. Great cities and roads intertwined, weaving amidst dark woods seething with beasts. Scared merchants, like myself, a mere fisherman, clamored across dirt paths coddling their goods at night as eyes watched in silence. These tales spun around the towns, spouted from our mouths.
“Not even the devil has a home in those woods.” I yakked out while hanging the fish by the tail on a wooden post for sale. “Why these fish should cost two shillings more for the horrors I encountered.” I rustled out as the crowd settled around silencing to hear my frightful tale. Pointing at the fish that hung in a row I gave a grim depiction of corpses rotting on the branches of trees. The guts sagging on their limbs and blood dripping into the soil as ghostly eyes twinkled in the night competing with the stars above.

Out I threw up my hands as I continued narrating how my convoy and I traveled at a snail’s pace dueling with the menacing night. Along the roadside we lit bushes as we passed hoping to ward away the ever-present evil that lurked. The chance of an ambushing fire was a risk we were willing to take as fears engulfed our minds. The back of the line of our group gaffed at the sight of shadows smothering out our trail of fire; upon witnessing they yelped out pleas to speed forward.
“How did you ever make it out?” snapped out a peasant gripping on to the loose clothes on his chest.
“What did the beasts look like?” Shouted out another person as other’s chimed in enthralled by the story.
Noticing the gathering that surrounded me, conjured up from shouting tales, other merchants followed in my footsteps hoping to garner the same attention.
“Come here as I tell you my side of the tale.” Puffed a vendor. “Pluck a sweet bushel and I will inform you with what I saw.” He blurted eyeing the bustling crowd.
The townsfolk scattered allured by new emerging accounts from different sellers. Mingling between each transaction receiving goods and interesting anecdotes, the market grew in bodies filling empty nooks and crannies. Still lively with a decent crowd I recounted my tale.
“I don’t know about these other people.” I said while extending my arm and panning it around referring to the other merchants. “I don’t recognize them from my journey.” I paused taking a sip from a canteen slung over my shoulder.
“I am not telling fables to sell fish.” I wiped my mouth with my sleeve.
“Uck!” I spat smelling the musk of rancid meat still festering on my clothes from the days prior.
“The stench of rotting flesh still lingers on my clothes. Those vile woods did a number on me and my men. Two of us went missing vanishing in the middle of the commotion. Their shouts and screams faded as we drudged forward. Only when we neared a clearing their voices became once again present. Eagerly calling us, they enticed us with lies to come back and see the riches and spoils they had discovered.”
My eyes welled as I passed my sleeve once again across my face.
“The demons that took them must have stolen their souls too.”
Motionless the crowd stared somberly. Eyes genuine with tears streaming down my cheeks, I bent down grasping at my knees as people rushed to console me.
“There, there. Things are safe now.” They said while patting my back, others gently resting their palms comforting my grievance. “Blessed you are. You were chosen to live another day.”

separate

“Heresy” Belted an onlooker dressed in rags veiling himself from head to toe. The only parts of his body showing were his leathery cracked hands. The skin on them taught to the bone hindering his movements. Steadily he paced his way towards the crowd unfazed from his presence as they were still focused on me.
“The great Deity in the sky would cure all this man’s woes if only he were not lying!” The veiled man shouted while pointing at me catching my eye. Awes encircled around him turning to the raggedy man as I defended my honor.
“How dare you, old man! You do not know what I witnessed.”
“The deity in the sky does.” The homeless man shot back.
“What stupid mysticism.” I grunted.
“Where exactly are these woods?” he inquired.
“Beyond this city. Somewhere between the woods of here and my home, Néthal.” People grumbled hearing may vague directions which caused me to quickly retort. “We got lost. In between our travel it was light out and suddenly turned dark. The night sky’s stars did not match any constellations I have ever seen before.”
“Really…” He mumbled out.
“Yes.” I said matter-of-factly.
Confused, viewing the swaying public walking away from me, I reached to the nearest person near me, questioning some townie mid departure.
“Who is this vagabond?”
“He is a holy man.” The townie stated looking at me with beady eyes. “Not once has he ever eaten. In the cold winter I have never seen him take shelter. He stands where the snow falls. His old beaten clothes withstand the weather. He could be soaked in rainwater but he’d never strip them off. And where others beg, I have yet to see him ever lay out his hand asking for charity.”
“Preposterous.” I gasped.
“No, sir. You are.” He said brushing my hand off his shoulder. “We may be gullible people. Often times too compassionate, but we do not associate with liars.”
“I am not a liar.” I said as he marched away. Others rolled their eyes showing their backs as I waivered whether or not to argue further. In between the crowds I saw the supposed ‘holy man’ stumble off barely able to catch his proper footing. His rags dragged on the floor accumulating more dirt. Turning back to my stand, I began to pack. My eyes still fixed on him trailing into the distance. I took the two left over fish stuck on their post and wrapped them in linens tossing them in my carriage. How I detested that man, I thought while packing and occasionally glimpsing back at him. Who is he to think I am a liar. I know what I saw! My throat clenched as I swallowed, thinking back at horrid memories. Mounted on the seat of my carriage I continued to watch him. At this time, he was exiting the citadel walls entering the fields outside. Watching as the guard gave him salutations as he passed and his body limping off, I decided to depart also.
end.jpg

To Be Continued

Sort:  

Thank you sorry my drawings came out so juvenile though

Nice story, I hope to see the next part. When are you posting it?

By the end of this week, but i will have more than this to post for you all.

Thank you! If you a critique it would help a lot

This post has received a 5.76% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @alexanderromeo. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Congratulations @alexanderromeo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alexanderromeo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58