Papercut #3: Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

in #story6 years ago

image.jpeg
Ang Mor Kau Sai = Caucasian Dog $h!t
Such a wonderful expression.

It showcases the classy-ness of Hokkien as a language.

Until I read this book, I was under the impression it was limited to the tough-talking Hokkien of Cebu but turns out the harsh language is prevalent in Hokkienese culture internationally.

In terms of storyline, Crazy Rich Asians has its typical Asian soap opera plot. Nothing new there.

What makes the novel stand out so much is the injection of true-to-life Chinese family mannerisms that even I couldn't believe that what I had always seen as odd among my relatives is actually normal Chinese practice.

The snobbishness, the fixation on family roots and background, on the chauvinistic outlooks, and on outdated practices this book score 10 out of 10 on accuracy.

As for the plot, again not so much. Too common, but I guess that's part of the point. It shows the stereotypical plot in a parody-like setting.

I still don't have the second book but it's next on my reading list.

What are your thoughts on reading Crazy Rich Asians ?
I'd highly appreciate someone else's thoughts on the topic. : )image.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi ... feel free to join #freewrite by @mariannewest. I think that fits your talent in writing. Freewrite community and the alliance are very supportive to people who love writing. Hope to see you there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50