Financial Pyramid At The University?

in #story7 years ago

Hey Everyone!

Today I'd like to tell you something about my university, Amway Company and my personal experience.

Amway_Center1.jpg
Image Source

In "Introducing Myself" I written that I study at Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University. And...
In one beautiful spring day of this year, my phone rang from an unknown number. Of course, I took it. It was some kind of "an independent entrepreneur". She told me that there is an interesting project, Internet commerce, and they make an Internet site. And since I was into this theme, I agreed. I was a little surprised when she decided to meet me next to one of the buildings of my university.

imop.jpg
Image Source

We met and went to the building. There was an unfamiliar event for me. And to pass it was necessary to pay about 5 or 6 dollars. I asked where we are going and said that I do not intend to pay. She said don't worry, I'll pay.

zal imop 3.jpg
Image Source

We entered the hall, there were a lot of people. A Polish millionaire began to perform. I didn't remember his name. He started talking about his good successful life, how he travels to different countries every week, about his expensive cars, houses, etc. Then he moved smoothly to Amway, began drawing diagrams on the board, explaining how it works, and how to make money. This went on for about an hour.

After that, each newcomer had to find himself a handler or partner. As you have already understood, my handler was that "an independent entrepreneur", who invited me. She said she would send me all the necessary materials. But in order to begin to work it will be necessary pass a course for 20 $.

And what do you think? I just declined all and went out. And now I will explain why.

I'm certainly not an expert on financial pyramids and psychology, but I well understood how they try to play on my emotions, and how they try to attract me. Maybe it's because I read quite a few of business literature and other similar books, maybe it's because I didn't yield to my emotions and followed my mind. But anyway, what with those people, and mostly students, who were not like me and decided to pay for a course and to be engaged in that?

Most likely they were deceived. And I can't say with full confidence that Amway are fraudsters, but on the Internet, on websites and forums, you can find many-many negative reviews from people who have been deceived. I don't think that the company with a truly pure reputation will have such negative reviews, articles and topics on the forums. Some may say that Amway is not a financial pyramid, but network marketing or multi-level marketing, but what's the difference between them? The difference is that one is illegal, and the other is legal. And that's it.

What conclusion?

I do not in any case impose my opinion on all this. I haven't lost anything from this whole story. But I want to convey to those people who read this, that in such situations you shouldn't yield to emotions, you need to rationally approach this, find out as much information as possible.

After that I have a two questions. Why the university allowed to conduct such event? And why, if Amway has such a reputation, then such a company continues to exist, and not just to exist, but to master new markets and new countries?

Please, leave the comments below what do you think about this story and Amway Company. Upvote if my post was useful. I hope you enjoyed reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @aidar! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aidar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34