My Story Part 5; Team ā€œthose who canā€™t cookā€

in #story ā€¢ 2 years ago (edited)

871A305B-E6AB-42DB-9EEF-6022BDF30833.jpeg

So after relaxing for a week at home after marriage (no honeymoonšŸ˜‚šŸ¤£..donā€™t ask), we resumed work.
Iā€™d go to work, go through all the stress of being a co-head to a digital agency made up of young employees(means double stress), get home probably an hour after him and cook dinner.
Now I HAD to stand on my tired feet at that time and cook a whole meal because he said he didnā€™t like refrigerated meals.
Fast forward to present day, heā€™s eating meals that have been in the fridge for a week. Well I guess itā€™s because itā€™s his sister whoā€™s cooking them(donā€™t worry Iā€™ll take you back and fill you inā€¦sit tight).

When youā€™d be preparing meals, heā€™d literally want to tell you how to do it; donā€™t put this use that, I donā€™t like that just use this. It made me nervous about cooking because it wasnā€™t like I was some chef. Thus all the instructions started to mess with my confidence in the cooking department.
I started apologizing about too much pepper, hard rice etc.

After some weeks of ā€œgoodā€ and ā€œnot so goodā€ meals, he complains about my cooking. He says I donā€™t know how to cook thus heā€™d let one of his sisters teach me. His sister.I was just too shocked heā€™d make such a suggestion. ā€œItā€™s not a big dealā€ he said.

I went on to suggest Iā€™d rather go back to my mom to ā€œrelearnā€ because I wasnā€™t comfortable with learning from his sister; Let my in-law teach me how to cookā€” in Africa, this part of the world where a woman is branded by her ability to cook?..no thank you. He said ā€œ it wonā€™t be the same as my sisterā€™s foodā€.
Are you thinking what I thought? Is the problem that my cooking is bad or that it doesnā€™t taste like your sisterā€™s?

CE709A10-D610-4C97-B1E3-EA49B6A66490.jpeg

I never use to cook for him back when we were dating. He mentioned it once and I took time out to prepare two meals, took to his and kept in the fridge. Something I spent good time to prepare, he never ate till I went by and threw out because it had gone bad. I was just too annoyed to even ask him about it. He also never said anything about it. I was just too tired of always being the one to try have conversations around issues. I guess I should have really been bent on resolving that. Itā€™s an issue that has persisted until today and now its a really huge problem; little drops of water they say make a mighty ocean.

After some back and forth, I actually gave in to letting his sister come teach me. After I agreed, that is when he realized it wasnā€™t a good idea I guess. Thus he decided to go learn it himself and come teach me. He did so once(some soup that was nothing special..smh).
The rest of what happened after is fuzzy in my mind now, but basically he started eating from his sisterā€™s home(we rented a house thatā€™s about 5 minutes ride from their house).
Heā€™d eat there after work before coming home. It was confusing, annoying and it hurt in the beginning but after awhile I was okay with it. What else could I do?
I continued to cook my poison for just myself(p.s Iā€™m still alive).

Apart from this, other issues started to unfold tooā€¦

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45