A Strange, Sad Dream

in #story8 years ago (edited)

This is a dream that I actually had and put into words.

A Strange, Sad Dream

I dozed off and dove deep into that rare, dark, comfortable sleep. Not a particle of light squeezed its way in and all was calm and peaceful. There were no background thoughts, and the dream was crisp, clear, real. I soon began to walk through lush green forest. Mist hung in the air and the rainforest had depth, texture that I could touch. Light broke through, and I walked through arid desert, the heat radiated off of the sand, the sun was bright white and low on the horizon. The desert turned into coastline. I floated on my back in  blue water, looking out at the islands with sand and waves and palms creating shade. All was beautiful and perfect.

Then I zoomed out. 

The Earth became a soccer ball sized sphere, the moon orbited Earth, and Earth around the sun. The clouds swirled over the oceans blue and continents green around the edges and yellow brown in the middle. 

I couldn’t control it, but again I zoomed out.

The Earth was now a marble, others like it sat out of reach in the distance, while a few of various sizes rolled near.

Again, I was pulled away. The solar system was beautiful and vast. Many like it floated nearby. It was beautiful but scary.

One again I involuntarily zoomed out and away. The Universe was no more than suspended dust floating in the beams of light pouring through a window.

I tried to zoom in but I couldn’t. I couldn’t see the Earth, not the solar system, not even our vast milky way galaxy.

The particles of dust moved so quickly that even if I knew which one was home, I wouldn’t be able to lock my eyes to it and zoom in. I felt uneasy. How could I have done this? Now I knew what was out there. 

I wanted to go back.

I couldn’t go back.




Follow me for some more cool stuff on all sorts of topics ie. life stories, opinions, reviews, the internet...

Sort:  

As above, so below. Interesting dream, very well described. I could visualise it very well from your writing.

Thanks alot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33