Building Your Writing Muscles

in #story-mentor6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

Today, I realised something interesting about myself and my writing... We're both stronger!

images (33).jpg

Although I've seen myself as a writer for a very long time, I only decided to be professional about it seven months ago, resulting in me dedicating more time and energy to getting my stories on paper (or on screen... That works too). However, I quickly came to realise I couldn't write more than three pages a day on a good day! And if I managed it, I would be so tired and fatigued at the end I would be useless for anything else.

It was okay, though. I took that as my ability level and worked with it, never even thinking about it. Until today, when I realised I've been writing 6 pages a day for the past week and didn't even notice!

What an improvement!

And that's not all. My vocabulary usage is tons better. I catch myself over and over again thinking up the perfect words to describe real life occurrences, and have discovered that it doesn't take me nearly as much time or brainpower to find the word I need -- yet another reason I can write so much more now.

Also, I've discovered that I know my own writing 'voice', and can alter it at will whenever necessary. I also know my strengths, and work with them happily. However, if my growth continues, even those weaknesses I've discovered will be gone. My muscles are stronger!

The Magic Formula

Write, write, write!

Really, this is the only formula a writer needs to become better. Sure, you ought to read the works of those better than you or those whose style you'd like to emulate, but really, if you aren't writing, you aren't growing.

Just like a bodybuilder, you must keep exercising your writing muscles to get them stronger. Do you love your writing? Write some more. Do you hate your writing? Just keep doing it. Do you think you lack writing stamina. Keep writing. Don't even bother pushing yourself, or you might be in danger of a burnout. Just keep writing and writing and writing. In a month, six months, a year, you'll suddenly begin to notice the tremendous improvements you've gained.

That's how you do it.


I found the #story-mentor tag from @michelle.gent a couple of months back, and have been hoping to write some of my experiences ever since!


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @petermarie

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I catch myself over and over again thinking up the perfect words to describe real life occurences, and have discovered that it doesn't take me nearly as much time or brainpower to find the word I need -- yet another reason I can write so much more now.
It should be occurrences instead of occurences.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35