“My Earliest Memories" ~ Writing Mentorship with @michelle.gent

in #story-mentor7 years ago (edited)

I was so excited, dancing around in circles, a little string bean, dressed in my plaid jumper with my t-shirt under it. Little white socks adorned my ankles along with my white Buster Brown laces ups. Tied by my own nimble fingers.

Looking around for our dog Moe, who was usually by my side I couldn’t resist the urge to run inside and jump on my bed. Sometimes Moe would jump with me, Mom always knew because She could could hear me laughing, as Moe went flying into the air when my feet hit the bed.


92578537-B5CC-47E2-9489-8858B3CECD49.jpeg


There was something special going on today. Dad said he was going to pick Mom up and bring her home. All I knew was that she had been been away from home for a couple of days and I was ready for her to come back. Being my Mom’s gal it was really hard to be away from her. I was homesick for her. It wasn’t like her to be gone, ever. She made everything better and I knew life was good because she was there.

When I heard the horn beep, it signaled they were home. Mom had never ever been away from my sister and I, not ever. Wherever she had been, it seemed like ages since she had been gone, even though Dad reassured me she would be back, still I was terribly worried about her. Dad got out of the family studebaker smiling as he ran around to the other side to help my Mom out of the car covering her with an umbrella, so she wouldn’t get wet, as it was a drizzly day. She had on her raincoat which I distinctly remember was black, with a black and gray checkered lining.

Some things you never forget. The smell of your Mother, the kindness or disapproval she could say with her eyes, the softness of her cheek, when I kissed her good night, or how she pulled us toward her wrapping her arms around my sister and I as she protected us from others.

They were almost in the house when I noticed she was carrying something in her arms. It was hard to tell what it was since she was so much taller than me. Whatever it was she didn’t want it to get wet. Mom had a warm smile on her face that I will remember forever as she got closer to me her smile said she was glad to be home. Hugging her leg like a little monkey, she kissed the top of my head.

Within seconds Mom was in the door of our sparsely decorated home. Dad was a college student, so they were just renting until he finished school. When Mom laid down the package on the sofa, it was wrapped in pink and was very still. Curious and looking to both of them for answers, Mom put her finger to her lips and said shhh... don’t wake her. Dad gave me a big hug and said this is your baby sister.


26E44886-36C4-45A5-A0A1-C94D3D527E7E.jpeg


Where did she come from I asked. In response they told me about the stork bringing her. Ok, that sounded like a reasonable answer, but why didn’t the stork bring her here to the house? It’s complicated, she was a special delivery.

Satisfied with the answer, I was content to find Moe and see what kind of trouble we could get into. What was the big deal after all?
7E2006EE-A899-411C-8553-1E98E2FFFBCA.png

Image Source

Sort:  

Well written early memory, reminds me of when my cousin was born, was excited to see her. Thought she was my own little toy to watch over.

Thank you so much old friend. Glad you stopped by. 🐓🐓

A really sweet story. I remember getting a new baby sister.

At the time I don’t even know where my other sister was. There somewhere in the house. Lol! 🐓🐓

I love this story! Assuming it is a true story, I'm wondering whether you never realized your mother was pregnant? It wasn't always discussed in previous generations, I know.

It is a true story. Being a little more than four years old there is little else I do remember. It was a very happy day for my family. 🐓🐓

This is so sweet friend! I wanted my brother gone when he was born lol

Dear friend it was later that I wished they would not follow me around. You being who you are would never want the competition of a sibling. I woulbet you are close now. Are you? You can tell Googley from a large family. She would do anything for some attention. Your friend🐓❤️

My brothers and I are extremely close now haha it was more out of jealousy he’d want to play with my dog than sibling competition haha
Googley comes from a family similar to the duck dynasty clan, she has to come in to my shop to get her beard waxed every week lol
Xo 😘

Oh yes. One doesn't remember a great deal from that age! I'm glad you were pleased with the addition to the family.

Oh yes. She turned out to be quite a character. 🐓🐓

Very nice! I can't remember anything before my sixth birthday. I think my first memory is: My Momma asked me what I wanted Santa to bring? I said a belt with a big buckle. I got one too... I was so happy!

It was always cowgirl boots for me. I have my Dad’s big old belt buckles from the oil fields of Texas. 🐓🐓

I remember 2 brothers arriving before I had a sister! I was so happy to finally not be the only petunia in the onion patch!

I would have welcomed an onion cause the 2 petunias drove me crazy following me around. Lol!🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82