Story telling Mentorship 1

in #story-mentor6 years ago (edited)

My very heartful appreciation goes to @michelle.gent and all others who have been supportive to this mentoring project. I can't buttres enough the Impact it has had on me presently and it's future impact that is still in incubation. Gratias!images(12).jpgimages(13).jpg
Image source: google

Watching him now from a distant I could tell he was grossly in thought. Not that this countenance was strange - in fact it was his thing to be moody- but from this distance, I appreciated it more. During the days I had tried to approach and introduce myself to him, I would end up been consumed by what seemed like disinterest in his eyes and then I would look down as if I were searching for some SBDs on the floor while I sauntered away.
"Today would be different" I told myself. I was going to approach and interact with this guy. "It may appear like I was forcing myself on him but I no longer cared about whatsoever".
"I am Chiguy'' he said bluntly when I enquired of him. That response was Short but not too short to begin a long conversation. With my experience as a Jounalist, I have learnt to be more patient especially with the seemingly taciturn ones. So I was going to be patient with Chiguy. I would listen and take down every bit of whatever he wishes to let out.
On a long discussion with him, I found out he was in his early twenties and was a college medical student in his penultimate year. His full name wasn't easy to pronounce but I managed to scribble the correct spelling as he spelled it. 'Ugwuanyi Chigaekwu' was his name . He loved not only medicine but also literature. So that when I mentioned Dan Brown, an author, to him, he was ready to tell me about Dan Brown's Da vinci code, Digital Fortress, Deception Point, The Inferno... He wasn't that reserved afterall; we found our commonness in literature.

He has recently taken interest in an online social platform or cryptoplatform he called "Steemit" and was enthusiastic about it. In his enthusiasm I had gathered he joined the platform about a month ago and has already written several articles in it. He loved to write stories, poems and essays though he admits his proficiency rather too shyly.

Currently there was a story he was working on. It is in a form of an introductory prose about himself, what he has done and what he hoped to achieve from a story mentoring scheme sponsored by another steemite and blogger, @michelle.gent. To flatter Him, I told him he needn't any mentoring. He raised his eyebrows in surprise, smilled and said he was still a learner and he would not stop learning at any point in time.
Just then, he asked If I could help him with his writeup. I asked of his username. " "@chiguy" he said meticulously.
Then I Smilled. "Why are you smilling'' he asked. ''I have just written about you, exactly what was expected of you to write in the Mentoring group" I said. He had not realised I have been taking notes- notes longer than just the name he spelled and the username he meticulously voiced. " As a Journalist" I continued, "I mind giving you my brain work to submit elsewhere. If I didn't, It would be plagiarism" I said and sarcastically sauntered away heads facing the floor like I would have done before.

Picture images were recalled from google. You are free to use them.

Sort:  

Oh that's interesting.

I'll mull it over - as I am with others and let you know soon :)

Very good... a different way of going about the task.

Thanks for given it a read @michelle.gent
I would not disappoint as your student!

This is great darling.

Try to add an image source next time

Certainly, I will. Thanks for your observation and for given it a read

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18