Thunderstorms rolling through at 4am - Glad i wasn't trying to sleep....

in #stormchasing7 years ago (edited)

Earlystormsteemit.png

A rare un-seasonal thunderstorm rolled through Jervis Bay in the early hours of the morning with some super loud thunder.

I shot for a good hour before deciding that it would likely start raining soon and the lightning had died down a little bit so maybe that was it for the night. Starting walking the long walk back to the car and was just walking up off the sand into the bush when there was this tremendous BANG! Scared the living shit out of me!!! That bang was lightning striking nearby so i decided to head back down to the beach to see how close (i had been shooting with a large zoom lens this whole time so i wanted to get some shots up close with my wide angle).
Just as i walk out of the bush and onto the sand this gigantic lightning strike hits the water about 40m in front of me.. BOOM CRASH BANG, once again i jump atleast 10m into the air! The noise was insane! My ears were ringing and i was just standing there like a stunned mullet shaking...
That was enough for me to decide i should just go home and i did! Luckily just as i got back to the car it started pouring down with rain!

This was a definite reminder for myself of how dangerous shooting storms can be. Prior to these two lighting strikes i was shooting lightning that would have been about 15 - 20km away. Then boom out of nowhere the storms right on top of me.
Not only that i was all alone and in a National Park at 4 in the morning. Not many other people around to help if something had gone wrong!

That said it doesn't deter me just reminds me to be more diligent and to always con someone to come with me!

Happy and safe shooting!

This image was shot with a Canon 5D Mk IV and a Tamron 28-300mm Lens.
Camera Settings were:-
f/11 28seconds ISO1600

Don't forget Upvote, Resteem and Follow!!!

Sort:  

Oh the story with all the BOOM CRASH BANGS was awesome! Brilliant shot too!
I can only imagine the noise... Dangerous and fascinating :)

Congrats @benfenson, Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :) Upvoted and Resteemd!

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-24th-aug-2017-2017824t125928671z

Many thanks!

Great shot on photos trail - I'm there too, in Tahiti working my way to Oz! When I start those posts I'd appreciate your thoughts on them. I've already done a few posts of Sydney Opera House abstracts and a couple of Gold Coast - one of them was a previous photos trail selection. Following.

Sure, tag me in them if you like. Will check out your pics and follow your page!

Cool - thanks for getting back to me!

Thank goodness you are safe! Amazing shot you got! Thank you for sharing! Upvoted.

Amazing shot! Scary thing shooting lightning, I'm glad it was 40m away and not a direct shot.
Jervis bay is my favourite place in the world! Your very lucky to live in such a special place!

Yeah same here but 40m away is close enough for my liking ;)
I do definitely feel blessed to be living in this part of the world. It is my favorite part of Australia's East Coast.

Awesome photo, and such a gripping story of how it came to be! Nice job @benfenson!

Thanks mate!

Amazing shot! It was worth the jump!

The jump was an added bonus ;)

Beautiful photo @benfenson. Please provide some info on your equipment and exposure data.
Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly in the comments how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only (without a photo). We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS.

Great thanks @photo-trail
A link and a photo would be great!

This image was shot with a Canon 5D Mk IV and a Tamron 28-300mm Lens.
Camera Settings were:-
f/11 28seconds ISO1600

Thank you @benfenson, please update your post with the data you have provided. That is an excellent lesson for the newcomers to photography.

Doneskies. Check out my first couple of educational posts also, would loe to know your thoughts on them :)

Excellent shot, a dedicated photographer takes those risks! Thanks for the share.

Thanks mate!

that is beautiful..

Ar, she is a ting of beauty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71