What's Up With Storj Coin? $0.83 -> $2.80 -> $1.57 In 48 hours

in #storj7 years ago

Storj 0.png

Storj is not a coin I follow closely. I am aware of it's nature as one of the coins based on decentralized cloud storage, but I am more familiar with both Sia and MaidSafe than I am with Storj.

Nevertheless, the volatility it has been experiencing caught my eye as I went to put a small, experimental order in for Storj:

Storj 1.png

As the chart makes rather plain above, this is highly abnormal volatility for Storj coin, at least recently.

Someone has been making some huge profits (and losses) trading Storj in the last 2 days, but why? I did a quick search for related news stories, but other than Storj being listed at a couple of new exchanges, there is nothing that would seem to justify this huge volatility.

Storj 3.png

I don't usually buy based on price action, but I may take a flier in the .00021-.00023 range for a little bit I can afford to lose.

Storj 2.png

That looks about right.

Sources: Reddit, Coinmarketcap, r/storj, Wikipedia, storj.io

Sort:  

Unit sold 2/3rds of holdings. Made profit. Kept the other 1/3rd for future changes in market.

I'm happy to see you are still operational! Sounds like a trade well within acceptable parameters.

There were news some time ago about Storj being integrated into filezilla as cloudservice for storing data.

Thank you for the information. Was this recent enough to explain this 2-day spike?

wasn't sure myself what happend, but I made some profit and still got some in there so let's see!

Where did you get those charts? I'm looking for an altcoin candlestick chart website and living in Nyc doesn't help me to get an account on many exchanges. Thanks!

Those are charts from Bittrex. You won't need an account there to use them, irrc.

Thanks! I appreciate your help. Have a nice day!

I think it's going down again..

It looks that way.

What goes up, usually must come down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88