My Experience with StorjShare 8 TB/ 2 Node Setup

in #storj7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 4.08.38 AM.png

New StorjShare Setup


I would like to share my experience with Storj. So I decided I would go in and build a small Storj Server. I did not want to spend a lot to get started. I want to see how profitable my setup would be. My first idea was to build a Raspberry PI 3 system as I was previously building a RPI 3 cluster. I figured I would add a USB drive with 2 nodes. I followed the tutorial for setting it up. What I encountered was a problem getting the code to run as it was unable to properly compile as things have changed with node. I worked through all the requirements. But when I went to run it I was getting an error. Diskinfo.node module missing so I was unable to run the node. This was a bit frustrating as I just bought the hardware to get started. So I went ahead and just installed it on my Mac. Initially I found that using the random UPNP connection was just not cutting it. I was getting orange and not green. I went back and punched a few holes in the firewall and forwarded the ports. Ok now I am getting somewhere! So, for my setup I previously had a 4TB drive that I was using as a backup drive which was having problems with the enclosure as it kept disconnecting. I took it out of the case and added a second 4TB drive as well as an external SATA drive enclosure. I found this NexStar TX at Microcenter for 21.00 and dropped my 2 4TB drives in. Creating 2 nodes. I was having some issues with the connectivity lag. I finally have them up running. Once running you will start to get offers. So I only have like 4 received on one drive and 6 on the other. Drive 1 only 128.4 MB is being utilized and 411.32 MB on the other. So I am wondering if all this was worth my while or just a waste of time. I have to give it some time. So I will return back later and give you an update after a month or so on what I am making.

IMG_0167.JPG

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 4.06.18 AM.png

As you can see the StorjStats app is not liking my connection? But on my side is looks fine.
I don't really know why the storjstats app is reporting as it does. I will just need to run with it.

https://storjstat.com/

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 3.43.40 AM.png

If you are interested in renting your drive space check out: https://storj.io/share.html

Payments are made in ERC20 Tokens tied to your etherium address. https://etherscan.io/token/Storj

https://www.myetherwallet.com/
My wallet is using the Trezor to store them.

If you are new to Storj, I hope this gave you some insight into what I am doing. I hope to see some profit in the future.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cgfx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cgfx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40