"Diary of a Musician" Choosing which midis to leave behind, is painfully difficult.

in #stories7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20161225_200859_processed.jpg
In my "music career" I play old songs, standards and novelty songs from the 40's, 50's, 60's. and even some newer, some a lot older as well.
I create midi files (Musical Instrument Digital Interface) or some times buy them. These are computer files that the keyboard reads, which tells it what instruments (horns, strings, drums etc.. how fast, how loud) to play for a given song.
I push the button and out comes the band. If I have purchased it, for instance "Strangers in the Night" by Frank Sinatra, it is exactly like the recording of old blue eyes, only it is me singing.singing-emoticon.jpg
I can either play along, or since I use a wireless microphone, I can walk around singing.
I have been doing this now since 2010, accumulating more and more song files.
I've just spent the last hour and a half, choosing midi files from my long used (and nearly empty) flashdrive. There are 149 midi files on that drive. And yet, it is almost empty.
Midi files are tiny compared to audio or MP3 recordings.music-notes-and-symbols-emoticon-for-facebook.jpg
You don't know how difficult it is, picking which songs to keep, which to leave behind.Big Tears face.jpg
I worked long and hard on each and everyone of them,
but some just never get played in my performances.
My book of lyrics had become far too large and unwieldy.
My plan is to keep all the lyrics to the songs I am not including, they will be in a separate book should someone ask for one of them. I will have the original flashdrive too.
This means that now, I will have to reconstruct a new book of lyrics.
I have the index already now. It is just now up to getting the lyrics printed anew and inserted into a new, smaller book.
Sighs ah the life of a working musician.cool-smiley-with-sunglasses.jpg

"Diary of a Musician" by
Jerry E Smith
©7/14/17

My Logo.jpg

Sort:  

Nice story picking song is way more difficult

Love the keyboard in front of the throne! That's dedication!

☺ha ha ha...Thanks @renodakota

I like this story @jerrytsuseer . I've been a working with midi since it first was introduced in the early 80's .

I've just spent another 2 hrs editing and modifying the index. I have a gig on Monday, I would like to have this all nailed down before then.
Even with all that pruning, I still have about 155 songs in this index, and that is too many.
Oh god! If I go back in to the flashdrive and delete anything, it will shuffle them all, changing the file locations, and I'll have to redo the index again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62843.47
ETH 2468.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67