Ding Dong years up to 7

in #stories7 years ago

Cottages from field 1.JPG

I don't remember a lot of the first 7 years living at Ding Dong, though I shall sketch in what I can. I was born in the front of the house in the picture [ the part with a tin roof ] one afternoon long ago. At the time my Father was running his own business making wooden toys ' Ding Dong Toys ' while my mother was just being a house wife. My Father had worked on rebuilding the house, but in truth it was all before my time or memory. My sisters had been born in London before the great escape that my Father and Mother pulled off.

They had moved to Cornwall in 1955 and it must have been a magical place at that time. I was born 7 years later, when the house had been renovated to a slightly better standard. Like I say I don't remember a lot of this time, just flashes. Like going to the beach in summer; beautiful coves with golden sand and pristine waters. Cold chicken and tomatoes. Long hot summer days up on the moors. The moors stretched for miles behind the house and it was where I spent the most of my time. Happy to head off exploring and learning the ways of the wild.

This period of time in reality was one of arguments and sometimes violent exchanges between my Mother and Father. Though I don't recall it, I can still feel it. My Mother had started writing articles for a small local paper, and this was going to be her future. I wish I could remember more but alas I cannot. I don't know when or why it happened, but one day, she was gone. Like she just disappeared, and I was left, along with my sisters and brother to live with my Father, who was ill equipped to deal with it.

Everyday we walked together to school, come rain or shine. Father would never take us no matter what. I actually liked the school, with around 30 kids it was good, and I thrived for a while. Walking was something we were used to, and one day I just wandered off down the road to a local farm. I came across the farmers working in a field and watched from a distance. I saw this large man slowly start walking towards me, and from my hiding place, he appeared taller and taller as he came closer.
"Can you drive a tractor?" he asked. I have no idea of my answer, but 5 mins later I was driving the tractor moving slowly slowly along the lines of cabbages. At the end of the rows he would jump up and turn the tractor for me, then continue planting on the back of the planter.

I loved it, and afterwards they invited me in for a real dinner, something I had not had in a long time. I ended staying there for 7 years until I was 14, living on their sofa. Of which I shall tell more later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16