Minebox worth it?

in #storage7 years ago (edited)

In theory I would be buying hardware for storage with a wallet installed that would let me monetize my unused space and I'd only have to connect the machine to the Internet and electricity. You can read more about it here!

My real fear is not whether I will be able to profit from renting storage out or get my investment back, my concern is with the fact that this product is untested and the whole reason I would like to get it is because I am not the most technical person out there.

Paying over $700 plus shipping for 8tb doesn't sound like a good deal, but paying that amount for basically a mining rig that could let me earn several criptocurrencies without having to worry about installing anything seems pretty good to me.

Storage is a business that is not going away, I'd like to know what others think about this startup and what they are offering.

Sort:  

I would advise against it but i haven't researched it enough so keep that in mind.

I'm basing my opinion on the price of your product and the actual price of a TB today, you can get a TB for around 50$.
Renting out a TB on the Sia blockchain (Looks like that's what minebox does) is about 2$ a month, also they are having some issues with the renting contracts which they are fixing.

Maybe wait for the industry to mature a bit more if you are unsure.

Hope this helps.

(Disclaimer: Some of the info I provided might not be completely factual)

like your post
can you please check mine last post if you have enough time :)

Thanks

hehe Yes i will do dont worry :)

I am already following you
you are my old follower dear thats why i am saying to you
and already upvoted your post
check it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49