What Are People Using For Data Storage?

in #storage5 years ago

Oh hi,

I currently am using good old hard drives to store my raw files and finished products. Cloud storage does intrigue me but I'm yet to find a cost effective way of storing them online for bigger files (gigabytes worth) and most seem to cost quite a bit to hold that capacity.

Screen Shot 2019-03-10 at 6.41.09 pm.png

Help a homie out, let me know what you're currently using or recommend?

Kevin

Sort:  

A hard drive

Hard drives as well, rotating my backup drives through my aunty’s house. I was doing cloud storage on my Nextcloud but that got too expensive after a while. Maybe I’m some mythical time when I have more money 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

That time is nearly here, STEEM PUMP! haha. Which cloud storage did you use before?

I'm not reliable enough posting wise to reliably earn steem to be able to reliably rely on it for regular things XD

I use BinaryLane, got my Nextcloud server on one instance and my web and mailserver on another. No complaints. Was using Linode previously but switched because there was one year when we were still running our business where the currency conversion just about wiped our profits XD otherwise no complaints about Linode either.

rocking, thanks!

Hard drives! I have several regular spinners for storage and as their super cheap I keep buying ssd’s and editing straight from them

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mac user?

Both Mac and pc, but nowadays I usually stick to my pc cause it’s a custom built editing one. Internal ssd drives are so cheap for a pc too 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mostly pendrives to keep old stuff

Posted using Partiko Android

is pendrives just usb's?

Yes same usb port thing. You can use through your lapies.

Posted using Partiko Android

I use a mixture of services. For larger items you cant beat local storage for performance but then you have to think about safeguarding that data. I use a service called Backblaze which is a client based backup to cloud solution. Unlimited data for around $6 a month. Backblaze will backup any storage that is connected to your licensed machine.

I then use the likes of icloud and onedrive for files i want to share between machines; I share items between a mixture of Windows, Mac and Android devices. I have a few TBs of storage available through these which is more than enough for me.

You can consider the likes of Google S3 for archiving items you may not need any more but dont want to remove.

I haven't even heard of Google s3. Appreciate your comment, man!

I'll note it isn't free but is pretty cost effective; the cost varies depending on the service you use. Infrequent access services cost $0.01 GB up to 50TB if I remember correctly.

I like to spread my data about as much as possible for safety reasons. Also it's great to whack it into services where you do not map a drive - mapping drives is a real security issue hence why I like services like OneDrive. This keeps you safe if you end up being hit with ransomware or similar which will work its way through the drive letters on a device.

U are a smart man!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! Or somebody who learnt the hard way :0)

If you just want to store them for backup, take a look to Amazon Glacier, which is cheaper than S3.

You are already into crypto, so you could also take a look to Sia, but it requires you to keep your node on sync and run it the same week contracts expire. It is counter-productive, however, as you need to download the blockchain -more than 10 gigabytes- in order to save you the space of the files you want to backup. But I don't know the size of all those files, so maybe it could serve your needs.

I would go with Glacier.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks heaps, man!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88