You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we Stop Homelessness? If so, How?

Yes, we can stop homelessness, but not a moment before people start seeing them as real people, not just numbers... the moment that a roof over the head is considered as important as food and clothing. Having been through poverty myself, I can say that often it is easy to find food and clothing, but impossible to find shelter... especially for a family - or a single mother who has been through the traumas of abuse and divorce.

Best wishes and prayers in your search.
 

Sort:  

I believe you are so right on the impossibility to find shelter, not many places will take in men. I know how it is even being a single mother, you have to almost be fleeing an abusive relationship to get help, I just hope that one day we can show that the man on the street corner, could be you, or a family member in a matter of moments. It has become a "hidden' issue in many areas and I hope that one day we can find these people the shelter they need!

Yes, I was thinking the same thing when I saw the preview of your comment - that you have to be fleeing an abusive relationship - or be a recovering addict - in order to get help as a woman, even with children!

I think the other thing that has to happen is that our society has to finally recognize motherhood for what it is - a real job that, when properly supported, gives the maximum return on investment - i.e. children who grow up as well-adjusted as possible!

Thank you for this comment! You are so right @viking-ventures this is where I am in my life right now. I would love to see more success stories here. I imagine being able to be a mom to our children and preparing them for life is definitely greater in the long term for sure!