How I Find the Best StockssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #stocks6 years ago

money bull.jpg
We're all bouncing around the crypto space, so much that people aren't seeing the power of an existing speculation institution: the stock market.

You can have incredible growth, often over 50% 100%, even over 150% growth by picking the right stocks and simply longing.

Here's how I go about maximizing my growth. I am not a financial adviser - all investments come with risk. This blogpost is just showing my personal strategies.

There's a popular site called tradingview.com. They offer a stock screener tool that lets you set filters such as market cap, performance year, price, price change %, and many more options - https://www.tradingview.com/screener/

My strategy is very simple. The last step is the most important to how I grow my portfolio's value:

  1. Set a filter to only view companies worth over $90 Billion - these companies generally don't disappear or get involved in many scandals that could tank their price. You can also select ETFs, these are also fairly reliable to grow.
  2. I set the performance filter to only show stocks with over a 50% increase in the past year
  3. I use the Robinhood app to trade, as it has 0 fees.
  4. I plug the stocks into Robinhood and check their 5 year growth. If they appear to generally grow, I'm ready to buy. I try to be very spread out in my investments, looking to be involved in dozens of good stocks rather than betting the farm on one/a few companies.
  5. I adjust the market cap and price filters to help get every dollar I can invested.
  6. I margin trade, borrowing the value I have minus 500 - robinhood lets you borrow money to buy stocks worth 100% of your holdings (If you have 2,000 in the app, you can borrow another 2,000). If I had 15,000 in the app, for example, I would borrow 14,500 to buy more stocks.

Why do I margin trade? Well, Robinhood only charges 6% non-compounding annual interest billed monthly (5% for loans over 50,000). In order to pay off my interest alone with my strategy, my stocks would only need to grow a little more than 3% over the course of a year. You owe 6%, but have about twice as much in stocks as you are borrowing, so it becomes much easier to hit 6% growth.

Some say there is a lot of risk in margin trading, but 3% growth in a year seems impossible to not achieve with companies like Microsoft, Tesla, Johnson and Johnson, Facebook, Apple, Alibaba, Citigroup, and so many ETFs. Although, if 2008 were occur again, the losses would be devastating. I like to imagine that won't happen again for some time. If you're interested in the robinhood app, use my link and we both get dispersed 1 share of a random reliable stock paid for by Robinhood. http://share.robinhood.com/kurtb50

Again, I am not an adviser. These are just some of my strategies written out so people are more educated about the free screening tools available on the web.

Thoughts? Comment away!

-Kurt

Sort:  

Hey Kurt! Nice meeting you! Really enjoyed reading your post, very informative!

Follow me if you get the chance @jessicalyons

Jessie xoxoxox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43