You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Buffett Influenced The Race Of The 1st Trillion Dollar Market Cap Company

in #stock6 years ago (edited)

My Apple story will make you shudder. I persuaded my fund manager to buy Apple at $38 - before the split. Over time he accumulated 2100 Apple shares. This became too large a relative holding in the portfolio and he started selling off.

I took over the portfolios and started writing covered calls against what was left and was assigned a few times. I now have no Apple shares. That 2100 shares would now be worth $2.8 million and would be more than 60% of my assets

I do not go back and look at how many Amazon and Google shares I bought in 1999 in the DOT COM boom. That would disappoint me as they all got sold before the collapse in 2000

Sort:  

The beauty of the Markets is it always gives us opportunity. The thing that is against us is time.

PS - where did you learn how to trade? I read your post every day and you are well versed in the Markets.

I have been investing over 30 years. I trained as an accountant and worked as a management consultant - that gives good tools. Instarted trading froex and did a lot of Learn to Trade courses here in Australia. I then did the whole training series with Trading Pursuits and was mentired by Brad McFadden for nearly two years from Daily Trading Report. A lot of my thinking coems from his experience.

Writing up 245 of these posts has taught me a lot too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72