9/12/18 Gym Progress: Also, Tactical Breathing for Fitness

in #stevegym6 years ago (edited)

ExerciseWeightSet 1, repsSet 2Set 3
Deadlifts (Smith machine)20,25,3010812
Plate Calf Raises32.5141619
Bench17.5,20, 22.598 (3 ISO)7 (7 ISO)
Bent-Over Dumbbell Row20914 (4 ISO)15 (5 ISO)
Cable Chest Press12.5, 15, 17.51514 (4 ISO)15 (5 ISO)
Knee Ups1515 (1/3 kickout)15 (1/3 kickout)
Medicine Ball, Sitting, Side -> Side11.1161820

Notes

1- Bar on the Smith machine is 45 lbs at this gym; the trainer says the weight is fully accounted for, although I have heard the argument that the Smith machine mitigates some weight. I'll go with the trainer.
2- My body fat percentage has remained at 31.7 for the last 6 months, although I weigh the same, and I have both subjective and objective measures telling me my muscle mass has increased. A gym mystery.
3- Returning to the question of the Smith machine; I see a lot of argument over it's use. My trainer's position is that it helps prevent injury, and that one can occasionally switch out to free weights to mitigate plateauing. I don't know why I am arguing against that position. Do I think I will look cooler on the power rack?
4- Did the deadlift for the first time today; was trying to watch my form in mirror, but was thinking wow, I actually look like I belong in the gym
5- Gassed out on the second set of medicine ball side-to-sides...was trying to time my breathing to the movement of the ball instead of focusing on tactical breathing. Corrected that and it made a huge difference on the third set. See next section about tactical breathing.
6- I asked the trainer about dropsets; he said use them if my third set was easy
7- I think I will move back to 3 lift sessions a week (just did two this week); BUT I won't attempt to make 15 minutes of cardio at the end of each session; might try to start at 1 to 2 minute increments at the end of each session. I defintely need to add cardio sessions on each week. I was going to go "2 lift/1 cardio" and increase from there, but I was really progressing well on "3 lift", so I'll need to increment to "3 lift/1 cardio"
8- I need to be consistent about maintaining a food journal; I can go well for 2 or 3 days but I invariably overeat, and get disgusted to record it...so far, I don't think the food journal has helped my eating, but it may help self-discipline in recognizing poor eating habits...I know they are there, I need to dissect them and eliminate them ;>
10- Had a really bad case of acid reflux all session; I thought it would stop me, but I got through the program.

Tactical Breathing

I first read about tactical breathing in Grossman's On Combat, which I have praised in the pages previously. It is intended primarily as a stress reduction tool in high stress situations (like combat), but it also valuable for physical exercise!

This technique, known as combat or tactical breathing, is an
excellent way to reduce your stress and calm down. This
breathing strategy has been used by first responders, the
military and athletes to focus, gain control and manage
stress. In addition, it appears to help control worry and
nervousness.
Relax yourself by taking 3 to 5 breaths as described below.
Visualize each number as you count.
Breathe in counting 1, 2, 3, 4
Stop and hold your breath counting 1, 2, 3, 4
Exhale counting 1, 2, 3, 4
Repeat
the breathing
Breath in counting 1, 2, 3, 4
Pause and hold your breathe counting 1, 2, 3, 4
Exhale counting 1, 2, 3, 4
Source


Follow my curation trail, More Info



My Books


Join our @informationwar Curation Trail

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 9,000 Steem Power and 40+ people following the curation trail to support our mission
  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here
  • My INDEX of informationwar writing

Sort:  

Hi @stevescoins!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.547 which ranks you at #503 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #373.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81