You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A: Vampires, Werewolves… Is there any scientific explanation?

in #stemq6 years ago (edited)

thanks for your kind words.
And I really enjoyed writing this post.

I think that vampires / werewolves aren't creatures of pure fantasy. I guess people were unable to explain some medical conditions in the past, so that they add the results of their own imagination to those conditions to come to some mythical explanation.

"...fairies or orcs..." - it's a good idea to try to find scientific explanation about them too, thanks.

There's also quite scientific explanation for Santa Claus phenomenon btw, and I'll make a post about it soon.

Example: There're some people who believe that a little red spot on the chicken egg (without a shell) is a presage of something bad. Gypsies show that egg to people and some people believe that something bad will happen. But that red spot is actually a cardiovascular system in the early stages.

Science is not perfect but it's something that is closer to reality, I think, compared with symbolism/ mysticism for example.
I think the scientific explanation is required to help people to better understand the world around us, so that we could avoid some stupid mistakes, especially when we deal with our health.

Sort:  

Thanks for a great response to my random musings, @alexbiojs. I look forward to hearing about the Santa Claus phenomenon and other explanations you might come up with for our fantasies.

I agree with you that science, though not perfect, is great for some things. I'm afraid I don't hold any hope that we will stop being stupid or making mistakes, no matter how much data or science we throw at our problems, though. I'd love to be proven wrong, of course!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38