You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Components of fire and their effects on the soil seed bank

in #stemng7 years ago

Finally had time to read your post, I was really interested, especially since my country just got scorched last summer because of forest fires, I always wondered how plants would regrow after forest fires, I always thought the roots stayed alive and the plant regenerated trough these, now I know it's because of soil seed bank and the stimulus is fire and smoke.

Forest fire moreover, could occur when hunters deliberately set forests on fire to drive out games.

Wait this is legal in Nigeria??

as a forest management tool in order to remove the accumulation of fuel loads that would otherwise lead to damaging wildfires.

Can you explain this part a little better, I think I've never heard about it.

Never thought possible for seeds to survive at that high temperatures, and to actually use the heat and smoke as a stimulus for germination is amazing!
Keep doing these types of posts, I was never much into plants/forest science, but I'm learning so much from you

Sort:  

Yeah,this really interesting post @shaid,i wish you can mentor me on how write a very good post on steemstem or science. i need your encouragement. Thanks

feel free to contact me on discord.

Can I tag along too, I need a hand too. You write like an academic. I sure would like if I can get mentored too.

Wait this is legal in Nigeria??

Technically, yes. Since there is no law/policy prohibiting such and if there are (I really dont know of any), I've never seen anyone being punished for such action.

Can you explain this part a little better, I think I've never heard about it.

When fuel loads is allowed to accumulate in forests, it increases the likelihood of damaging wildfires occurring. However, fuel loads are burned in a kind of 'controlled burn' either within the forest itself or in a chosen location, it greatly reduces the chances of damaging wildfire occurring within such forest. Hence, fire is a major forest management tool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35