You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hexagon in nature: why is the honeycomb hexagonal?

in #stemng7 years ago

Speaking of honeycomb and efficiency, I can attest that the hexagonal honeycomb is the best as I used a honeycomb (artificial) in my flow visualization wind tunnel. Several literatures confirmed that they are the most suitable for my research. Although I could not use it. I had to improvise with a circular one instead due to the unavailability here in Nigeria.

For the bees, precision is one thing I have observed in the animal kingdom especially with insects. Making an hexagonal honeycomb is indeed most efficient as this will save them some effort. Nature has a lot for we humans to tap from.

Thanks @greenrun.

Sort:  

The flow visualisation you mentioned sounded like something you'd see in aeronautics. You studying aeronautical engineering? When you say circular one, are you saying the beehives in Nigeria are not hexagonal? The one I saw last week was hexagonal, can't recall seeing one that wasn't. Thanks.

Well, it is related to aeronautics because it cuts across aerodynamics but flow visualization is not strictly aerodynamics, instead it is an aspect of fluid dynamics in all.

I studied mechanical engineering.

And about the honeycomb I used, it is artificial. I made it myself. The natural honeycomb does not have the required strength.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47