You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Personalized Medicine : The Tailor Style Approach To Health Care Treatment

in #stemng6 years ago

I was sick sometimes ago back when I was in the university. I went to the school clinic and i was treated for malaria but to no avail. Later, I was treated for typhoid which took time to cure.

All i'm saying here is that the current system though doing its best, has not always been able to ascertain what kind of sickness one is having. Since many kinds of sickness share similar symptoms the doctors will have you run series of tests to confirm what is really wrong and even some times nothing may be found.

But here comes Personalized Medicine.

There is'nt any science as fascinating as knowing that i could have medical treatment unique to myself. The fact that this scheme allows a particular ailment to be targeted is amazing.

Good job @addempsea for bringing such to our attention.

Sort:  

I was sick sometimes ago back when I was in the university. I went to the school clinic and i was treated for malaria but to no avail. Later, I was treated for typhoid which took time to cure.

The treatment for malaria that didn't work strengthened the resistance to that particular drug. If it's been wrongly prescribed over time, the drug will have no effect on the bacteria causing the malaria.

This is why we need personalized medicine to help identify the true illness and the proper prescription.

Thanks for the kind words.

You are welcomed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61