You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cam and Camshaft; lets talk about what makes the valves move

in #stemng6 years ago

Permit me to say camshafts are bae. They are probably my biggest favorites in the engine. I especially remember my Engineering drawing classes where we had to draw the movement of different types of cams and their followers.

The movement of Cam lobes is probably what amazes me about them the most, how they are designed along with the timing to ensure that they arrive at the point of need exactly when they are needed. Truth be told, if there is something wrong with the movement of these things, the engine is in serious trouble.

I can't end this without telling you about how these uneducated mechanics confused me in my early days of learning about engines. Anytime I asked them I'll like to see a camshaft, they'll tell me there is nothing like that in an engine. Until one of them asked me if i meant caneshaft, and I told him to show me that one. Alas!! he was referring to a camshaft 😂😂

This is a great exposé on my dear friends, let me say "Thank you" on their behalf.

Sort:  

I have a caneshaft in my workshop. Would you like to see?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70