You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fusion of Twins and The Effects of Blood Transfusion

in #stemng6 years ago

(I wonder why beers and blood are both measured in pints)

Is that the case everywhere? I think that in France it is measured in liters or milliliters... For instance, blood transfusions are usually within the 450-500 ml range, if I am not wrong.

It turned out that my hematocrit value was 52%

I had actually no idea about what a hematocrit value was. Thanks google ;)

Great post by the way :)

Sort:  

So how many pints make one liter?

This is about 2, no?

Yes, two pints make one litre.

Lol. I also heard about "hematocrit" for the first time today :p

We live and learn :)

Well, they told me that I could donate two pints which amounted to two units of blood which I guess is the 450ml you mentioned. But the only other liquid I have heard associated with a pint was beer. Maybe my vocabulary is poor but that's it :)

I haven't even taken the time to find out exactly what 1 pint is in terms of metric measurement. I guess Google would help

I didn't know hematocrit until the lab attendant told me, "Yours is 52%"

"Huh. Is that a good thing or a bad thing?" I asked.

"Good."

Well, Google told me the rest:)

Thanks a lot for visiting my blog. It means a lot to me.

By the way, I found something stupid on your post even though it took a while :)

I am trying to hide one stupidity / unrelated stuff on each post. :)

I think hematocrit has to do with percentage red blood cell in your blood.

Yeah, the volume of red blood cell to the total volume of blood. If i am right though

This is indeed what google tells us :)

Did not check though, my project work during my undergraduate days was based on haematology.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22