You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who says we can't farm on Mars- The chances and challenges

in #stemng6 years ago (edited)

The main reason it’s called Mars is because it was christened after a Roman god of war and due to the presence of its red surface which is due to presence of iron oxide and volcanoes which includes Olympus Mons with Phobos and Deimos as its satellite

I have studied science for long, never knew this

Instead of relocating to mass, It is my opinion we turn some deserts like Sharah desert into a habitation.
Again, the gravitational force in Mars is low this would be a very big issue to tackle before making Mars a haven or safe habitation

Notwithstanding, I appreciate your profound contribution to our community
Thanks a million

Sort:  

I appreciate man... we get to learn everyday and that's why we are here in the first place.

I do hope success comes out of the Mars journey, else we won't value earth

@ikchris I really like the idea to make desert areas habitable. It is much more feasible compared to a journey to mars where we have to somehow make our own atmosphere.

Exactly.
We can do what Late President Gaddafi of Libya did; converting deserts to fertile land through irrigation

Was the experiment successful? How much amount of money was put into it?

I strongly agree with you @ikchris on that gravitational aspect...
Serious issue it will be in tackling that for survival in mars. I will stick to earth anyday anytime.. Nice job @humbledeen

Even me oo

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth

Am not going to Mars bro, I remain here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61292.26
ETH 3430.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51