You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to my vegan friends

in #stemng6 years ago

Hey gentle, sorry it's taken me a while. I just read all the comments here hehehe and I guess I will get trolled for writing this but it's OK

Actually, veganism is much more than just a diet. It's a complete lifestyle change and a philosophy of empathy towards other living beings and the environment (not to be confused with plant-based diets, which are purely dietary). Personally, I do it for the animals more than for the environment or my own health.

Do I like the taste of meat? YES, but I also have the willpower to not eat it because I know the suffering an animal goes through just for my pleasure.

Am I weaker or malnourished because of it? No, and as you know I exercise a lot. There's no issue on that end =)

Am I missing out? I don't think so. It makes me happy that I don't make a sentient being suffer just for my personal pleasure. We are omnivores, that's correct, but we also have the capacity to choose what we eat, and we are smart enough to build our diets in a way that is nutritious but doesn't include any suffering.

As for the argument that plants have feelings too, well, I'm with @dedicatedguy on that and will just say that you can't really look a slice of lettuce in the eye and see its fear and agony. You can however with animals=). Again just because a plant may or may not feel pain, that doesn't justify the fact that we should inflict pain on animals who we know for a fact that they do. One doesn't justify the other.

If you are really interested in the topic, I highly recommend you to watch the documentary "Earthlings". You can find it on YouTube. I would love to hear your impression after watching it.

Sort:  

hehe..nice to eventually get the comment of a real vegan. I wish more will come out to express their thought just like you did.

I personally do not have problems with people's diets or philosophies about life. Like I said, looking down on others because of it is what I am totally against. We all feel empathy to varying degrees, while some can't stand the sight of the blood of animals, some will laugh and have fun while watching their fellow humans wriggle in pains.

Much as I do not support animal's cruelty, I refuse to see the sustainable use of animal and their products as being cruel to animals. We all know some animals will eat humans if given the chance. We are not standing atop the food web for fun, we fought our ways up there through natural selection.

I will find time to go through the recommended video and give you a feedback. Till then...

Stay Eve 😇

Thanks @gentleshaid =) Please watch it!!! You'll be my hero if you do =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54