You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Memories and Why We Forget

in #stemng7 years ago

churchboy I have also always pondered on this issue...

Why can I remember some numbers I learnt as a kid...for instance ..my parents phone numbers ... And yet I keep forgetting my own best friends' numbers or birthdays... It used to give me cause for worry but I think I understand it better now..

Thanks for the detailed explanation.... It's appreciated

Sort:  

Thank you @bennyjay. We tend to remember things that we deem important. For instance, when you memorised your parents' phone numbers, you probably did it because you thought it was important in case you had to call them in an emergency or life-threatening situation. Also, you probably did not have a phone yourself and you had to dial it off the top of your head or look for it where you had written it, which is inconvenient. Again, they were probably the only people you knew who you ever needed to call so your brain was dedicated to remembering.

I am certain that if you have a friend you have to call on a daily basis with a phone that cannot save numbers, you would memorize the number long term due to repetition.

I am so happy to have you here. Thank you for reading. It was a lengthy post, I know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64